Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Equipment Usage, Soldering, Techniques, and Reviews
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2017, 02:09 PM   #841
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

maybe i will manage to do some releases by the weekend!!
the build-rig is back together, i just need to back up the drives before i do anything else with it.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 03:03 PM   #842
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,333
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Just saw this on the German forum that I had missed:
Quote:
rnd D. schrieb:
> Hallo Karl-Heinz, ich habe einen 1500µF Elko, der vom Tester je nach
> Version als Diode mit großer Sperrkapazität angezeigt wird.

Hallo Bernd, angeschlossene Elkos machen bei der Detektion von Dioden
Probleme, da das Spannungsverhalten manchmal seltsam ist. Die Probleme
kommen daher, daß Dioden über das Spannungsverhalten bei angeschlossenem
470k und 680 Ohm Widerstand erkannt werden. Das Sperrverhalten wird
nicht untersucht, weil auch antiparallel geschaltete Dioden erkannt
werden sollen.
Bei Elkos läßt sich das Problem umgehen, wenn man diese im speziellen
Kondensator-Meßprogramm (1-||-3) untersucht. Wenn man nur Elkos
untersucht, ist auch das ESR-Programm (C+ESR@TP1:3) brauchbar. Hier ist
die Kapazitätsbestimmung nicht so genau, da mit sehr kleinen
Meßspannungen gearbeitet wird. Für Elkos sollte die erzielte Genauigkeit
aber ausreichen. Der Kapazitätsbereich ist auch etwas eingeschränkt
(2µF-50mF). Dafür ist dieses Programm aber für eine Messung in der
Schaltung (in circuit) brauchbar.
Here is the same function described from the PDF manual:
Quote:
C+ESR@TP1:3 The additional function ”C+ESR@TP1:3” selects a stand-alone capacity measurement
with ESR (Equivalent Series Resistance) measurement at the test pins TP1 and
TP3. Capacities from 2µF up to 50mF can be measured. Because the measurement voltage is
only about 300mV , in most cases the capacitor can be measured ”in circuit” without previous
disassembling.
If the POWER OFF option is selected in the Makefile, the count of measurements
is limited to 250, but can be started immediately again. The series of measurements can
be finished with a long key press.
Live and learn
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 04:00 PM   #843
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

i knew about that - it's documented in the code.
it does not alter the fact that 90% of the time there will be something else in parallel with the cap that screws with the reading.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 04:08 PM   #844
turbochris
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
City & State: Grovetown GA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I thought about using 2 cells but there's no off the shelf USB charge module available. The module I'm using seems like it's OK I used it on my DSO150 scope build. Will I have to recompile the firmware with a lower low battery threshold?
turbochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 04:42 PM   #845
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

yes, or it will switch off as soon as it tells you the voltage.
i wouldnt know about usb charge boards - i dont trust lithiums so i only charge them in the standalone charger.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 06:58 AM   #846
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

update
only GM328 for now - the build-box is in bits and RSYNC is doing it's thing.

btw, as usual there is some functions not activated by default - well they are now.
i had to drop down to 8x8 font to get everything to fit for now - until i can rip the contrast menu out again!
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM328x ESR tester (SVN749).zip (98.4 KB, 16 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 12:39 PM   #847
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,333
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

As I said here I think the 8x8 font is better anyway so leave it in

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...&postcount=767
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 06:07 PM   #848
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

the build box is now running - as a room heater!!!
so if anybody wants any custom builds - just ask.
tell me the hardware and anything "custom" needed, and i'll compile it.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 06:16 AM   #849
hal9008
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: Sao Paulo
My Country: Brazil
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Please stj, when possible, post a recent version for "AY-AT". Thanks.
hal9008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:28 AM   #850
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

not tested.
Attached Files
File Type: zip AY-AT ESR tester (SVN749).zip (98.0 KB, 23 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 03:49 PM   #851
turbochris
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
City & State: Grovetown GA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

if your room is still cold, please warm it up and compile one for me! AY-AT board, ST7735 display, 16 mhz and I need the low voltage cutoff set to a more li-po friendly value I guess 3.2 volts?
turbochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:20 PM   #852
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

o.k.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 07:47 PM   #853
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,488
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Speaking of these AVRtesters, has the 16x2 LCD become deprecated or will they still work just fine with all the new features? (of course, no pretty artwork unlike on the graphic displays...)
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 09:13 PM   #854
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by eccerr0r View Post
Speaking of these AVRtesters, has the 16x2 LCD become deprecated or will they still work just fine with all the new features? (of course, no pretty artwork unlike on the graphic displays...)
depends on the cpu
you really need an atmega328p

if you have an atmega8 / atmega168 then you dont have enough flash memory.
on the bright side - they all have the same pinout - so you can upgrade the chip.
make sure you get it from china though, or it will cost almost as much as a new tester.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2017, 09:14 PM   #855
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbochris View Post
if your room is still cold, please warm it up and compile one for me! AY-AT board, ST7735 display, 16 mhz and I need the low voltage cutoff set to a more li-po friendly value I guess 3.2 volts?
i dont know, i'm pretty sure the cutoff is 3.6 for li-on

anyway - i made several - so no problem.
Attached Files
File Type: zip AY-AT ESR tester (SVN749)-lithium.zip (134.4 KB, 12 views)
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 05:12 AM   #856
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,847
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Just saw this on the German forum that I had missed:


Here is the same function described from the PDF manual:

Live and learn
per hansson is additional function ”C+ESR@TP1:3” option enabled in your version of the firmware i have just put onto my tester thanks
vinceroger69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 10:56 AM   #857
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

afaik it's always present if the menu is enabled.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 11:01 AM   #858
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,847
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
afaik it's always present if the menu is enabled.
Thanks stj as you know i have two of these testers so going too have your version on one and per hassons on the other.
vinceroger69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 02:06 PM   #859
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,488
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

I would imagine the 16x2 LCD's would require less memory because they don't have any graphics to store! (?) Then again you can program bitmaps into them...

I also hear that the mega8 and mega168 lack features like adjustable vref and thus can't do as much as the mega328 anyway, so that stuff can be compiled out, saving some flash?
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 01:48 AM   #860
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,705
Default Re: ESR meter upgrades

so what chip do you have?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?