Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Tablets, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2021, 12:22 PM   #1
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11,013
Default Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutorial

These models use the same bios: Lenovo IdeaPad C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML/S340-15IML Touch/S340-14IML Lenovo XiaoXin-15IML 2019/XiaoXin-14IML 2019

Backup bios used for this tutorial https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=97978 Post #13

Extract & Edit.

Download the lenovo update from - https://download.lenovo.com/consumer...s/crcn17ww.exe
Extract the first exe using innoextract - https://constexpr.org/innoextract/#download
Extract the second exe using 7-zip or winrar - https://www.7-zip.org/download.html

Open the EL5C4109.ROM file with HxD hex editor - https://mh-nexus.de/en/downloads.php?product=HxD20

Use the Text search by clicking on "Search" ,then "Find" and type in the word BIOSIMG .Click on the "OK" button.

The line below BIOSIMG is the start of the new bios,put your cursor at the beginning of that line,then select "Edit" -> "Select Block" or right click and choose "Select Block".

The "Start-offset" should be already set to 130AD0 as thats where you put the cursor.

Next, click on the "Length" button and enter 1000000 (1 Million) into the white box and click on the "OK" button


(1000000 in hex is 16MB).(some updates do not contain a full bios image,only a partial update)

Select "Edit" -> "Copy" or right click anywhere in the highlighted Blue area and select "Copy".

Next,select "File" -> "New" -> "Edit" -> "Paste insert" or right click inside the new file and select "Paste insert" .


Select "File" -> "Save" and name the file with a .bin or .rom file extension, for example BIOS.BIN .Close the EL5C4109.ROM tab by right clicking on the tab and selecting Close ,or by clicking on the tab and selecting "File" -> "Close" . Keep the HxD window open with the new file.

Copying the windows key and DMI from the old bios.

Open your backup by selecting "File" -> "Open" or drag the old bios backup onto the HxD window.The new bios and backup should be side by side now on seperate tabs.

Click on the backup tab, then "Search" -> "Find" .Click on the "Hex-values" tab,enter the following by typing in or copy/pasting into the white box and
click ok:

01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 1D 00 00 00



You will see the key in plain text.You need to copy the hex on the left to include the dots and key on the right,note that there is one letter or number on the fourth line down on its own.Its all too easy to forget to copy that last one,the file length in hex will be 31 if you only copy the dots and key,its much easier to copy the whole line that its on,then the length will be 40 ,much easier to remember and guaranteed not to miss the last letter/number

Right click and choose "Select block" (or use your cursor to select the 4 lines) ,set the "Start-offset" to 62D000 and the "End-offset" to 62D03F ,or click on the "Length" button and set to 40 and click OK .


Next,choose "Edit" -> "Copy" ,click on the new bios tab,right click and choose "Select block" .Enter the same values as before,set the "Start-offset" to 62D000 and the "End-offset" to 62D03F ,or click on the "Length" button and set to 40 and click OK .

Right click and select "Paste insert" or choose "Edit" -> "Paste insert" .Select "File" -> "Save" .

Now we have to find the rest of the DMI info.Click back onto the backup tab,use the "Search" -> "Find" and enter the model number or lenovo into the Text-string white box.Set the search direction button to backward,forward or All and then click "ok".In th right side column you can see the word lenovo and some other numbers/DMI info.

Set the start-offset to 520000 and the end-offset to 5207FF ,copy and paste-insert into the same start/end offset in the new bios ,then save .


The reason for setting the offset to 5207FF will become clear when you see that the area in the new bios is all FF

.You have to use your best judgement where the DMI should be set,its a matter of trial and error finding the offsets.
With some models the DMI info is stored in the EC and there`s no need to copy it from the old backup.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.BIOSIMG.JPG (156.2 KB, 562 views)
File Type: jpg 2.Paste insert.JPG (275.7 KB, 498 views)
File Type: jpg 3.Search win key Hex .JPG (201.9 KB, 557 views)
File Type: jpg 4.Copy Win Key start and end offset.JPG (172.3 KB, 553 views)
File Type: jpg 5.Paste insert key into new bios.JPG (343.7 KB, 493 views)
File Type: jpg 6.DMI area.JPG (203.5 KB, 558 views)

Last edited by SMDFlea; 04-13-2022 at 11:56 AM..
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2021, 01:49 PM   #2
Vesko356
Sharp Shooter
 
Vesko356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Sofia
My Country: Bulgaria
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

Well done, good job.
Excellently written guide , should be on top as sticky thread.
__________________
Doctrina est fructus dulcis, radicis amarae.
Vesko356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2021, 11:25 PM   #3
kalilinux25
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: State of Octagon
My Country: UN
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

thanks sir Ill try it for my slef
kalilinux25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 09:56 AM   #4
amtoufik09
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
City & State: setif
My Country: Algérie
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

thanks good job
amtoufik09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 10:01 AM   #5
kalilinux25
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: State of Octagon
My Country: UN
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

Do you have also for asus?
kalilinux25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 10:08 AM   #6
SMDFlea
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11,013
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

Quote:
Originally Posted by kalilinux25 View Post
Do you have also for asus?
No not yet. There are some asus tools to add dmi ,but mostly its easier to use a hex editor and UEFITool https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...43&postcount=5

Last edited by SMDFlea; 03-03-2022 at 10:11 AM..
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 10:15 AM   #7
kalilinux25
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
City & State: State of Octagon
My Country: UN
Line Voltage: 220V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,063
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMDFlea View Post
No not yet. There are some asus tools to add dmi ,but mostly its easier to use a hex editor and UEFITool https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...43&postcount=5
Im new on creating my own bios, i though dmi is not very important. Another learning
kalilinux25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 01:12 AM   #8
wandy
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
City & State: indonesia
My Country: tangerang
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

what if the old bios no longer exists, and can't copy the DMI? will the new bios not work?
wandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2022, 03:12 AM   #9
anshad
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 226
Default Re: Lenovo C340-15IML/FLEX-15IML/S340-15IML S340-14IML Bios Extract & DMI Edit Tutori

Quote:
Originally Posted by wandy View Post
what if the old bios no longer exists, and can't copy the DMI? will the new bios not work?
Usually the system will work but obliviously you will loose original Serial no, Windows key etc and that will also cause software activation issues. Application software which uses system serial,UUID etc. for generating Machine ID may also stop working. Depending on the machine, you may also get an error message or warning message about invalid DMI on startup.
anshad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?