ESR meters and the Bob Parker unit revisited

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ESR meters and the Bob Parker unit revisited

Just a few helpful bits of info for all of you electronics newbies struggling with trying to determine if an electrolytic capacitor that looks physically perfect is really OK in a circuit.

I have been doing electronic repairs since 1974, and I would have really benefited long ago from owning a nice ESR meter like the BOB PARKER unit. I now own the newest Blue version of the 3 Bob Parker units available:
    1] Dick Smith Electronics version - limited availability on used market
    2] EVB Unit, Bob Parker improved design from Portugal, available
    3] Anatek Blue Bob Parker latest design available as kit OR assembled

A little disclaimer is in order here. I do not personally know Bob Parker. I do not personally know John Bachman or any of the other fine folks at Anatek. I am just a customer to them. I do not sell ESR meters and I do not get any commission from the sale of Blue ESR meters by Anatek or anyone else for that matter.

That all having been declared, on to the good info stuff.
    I have in the recent past repaired much more than just motherboards [CT scanners, MRI scanners, & all kinds of other good stuff].

FACTS [obviously as seen by me]:

1] The Bob Parker Blue meter is the most fantastic ESR meter I have ever used [and I have used a bunch of them]

2] At $79.00 for the kit or $119.00 fully assembled and calibrated, the Blue ESR mater is a PHENOMENAL bargain.[Please do not PM me and complain that while you decided to work on electronics, motherboards, and other such tech clap trap, $119.00 plus S&H would put you on the streets with the homeless, break your budget, make you poor, etc... and so on.... I know....yes, I know, been there and done that. At times, life is tough]