LG 50PC3D - Picture slow to react and weird colors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG 50PC3D - Picture slow to react and weird colors

Heres the story - bought the TV with a bad power board. Order a replacement board on Ebay and install it. Check the outgoing voltages and adjust to specs according to label on inside of set but notice green and red speckles and just a generally dim and weird colored picture. What would cause everything to look strange like this? Im trying to understand what the Ysus and Zsus boards do and how to test them but I am extremely new to TV repair. I also managed to find a service manual by searching a thread on here but none of the examples they show in the PDF look similar to my problem. It also seems like it takes a second for the picture to "fill in" so to speak.
    Attached Files

Re: LG 50PC3D - Picture slow to react and weird colors

You have a bad Z-sustain. The fault is caused because the Z-sustain is not pre-charging the panel properly, meaning it cannot change rapidly. Also, the colours often appear with a deep purple tinge, even on white scenes. There are often fuses on the Z-sustain that blow which can cause this; test them. Also check the logic and power connectors as they can sometimes come loosened when you work on the TV.
    Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
    For service manual, schematic, boardview (board view), datasheet, cad - use our search.

Comment

Yeah it almost looks blue in person and greens look awful. The dashboard screen on my Xbox 360 is ridiculous. I will check and see if there are fuses on the Z-sus and report back. Thanks for the prompt reply!

Comment

Originally posted by Bullgawd View Post
        Yeah it almost looks blue in person and greens look awful. The dashboard screen on my Xbox 360 is ridiculous. I will check and see if there are fuses on the Z-sus and report back. Thanks for the prompt reply!