Arcade games and bad caps...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Arcade games and bad caps...

I work in the amusement industry as a coin-op repair tech. I wanted to give some of my stories on bad caps. The situation got much worse than just one or two machines. I stumbled across Badcaps.net and now I know I'm not alone. I hope this never happens again. We all need to be able to depend on our computers and other equipment.

1. Merit Megatouch Radion and EVO games with the ECS P6IWP-Fe motherboards. Failed after 2 years or so. Also these boards get quite warm in the poorly ventilated cabinets.

2. Merit Megatouch Maxx games with the Unicorn Computer ENDAT-5701 motherboards. These are coming in left and right with bad caps after a couple years of operation. I've probably recapped about 40 of them now. Caps were marked "GL" and were green with a gold stripe.

3. Star Wars Episode 1, Pinball 2000 pinball game. Bad caps on the motherboard was making it unstable. Works like new after recap. AT-style power supply also had bad caps. I was amazed the board survived and is working so well now.

4. "Pump It Up" dance game. Poor stability was making this one troublesome for us. I finally took the boards out of the cage and found bad caps. Works like a charm now.

5. Enhance brand power supplies used in Merit Megatouch games. The small form factor ATX power supplies that are rated at 110 watts. Every single cap goes bad in these, including the small ones on the control card. Especially the earlier ones with the cheap fans that always froze up.

I probably could have filled a small garbage can with all the bad caps I've had around here. And this goes to show it's not limited to a couple boards or manufacturers.

Re: Arcade games and bad caps...

Enhance is a good PSU brand, although they use Jamicon, Capxon and so on. The cap failures are probably a consequence of over-heating due to fan failure.

Comment