ratshack made a good one for once

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ratshack made a good one for once

anyway, tomorrow i am teaching my friend to recap a board. however, i was out of braid, and i found out the electronics shop that has good, fluxed braid is closed this weekend. so i had to go to ratshack instead. they have crappy fluxless braid. and worse, only paste flux. ouch.

i saw that they had a desoldering iron for $11. it was 45 watts... see this image:

i was expecting it to suck donkey balls, but i was surprised. it did one hell of a good job... i was even able to pull an atx connector off a dead board for another project yet to be posted.

it isn't grounded... but thats my only complaint.

it sure aint a hakko eletric one (forgot the number), but for $11, i was impressed.

comments?
    Attached Files
    sigpic

(Insert witty quote here)

Re: ratshack made a good one for once

Ratdude
    I have been using mine for about 9 months ,I have no complaints,The tips are low priced also
    Al.
    Whatever I do, I consider it a success, if in the end I am breathing, seeing, feeling and hearing!

Comment

I use to use one of these (still have it). Only complaint is the tip falls apart quickly.

Comment

I haven't tried a bulb in a long time. I always found they didn't quite cut it vacuum wise.
        I use a standard blue Soldapullt spring loaded unit.
        I'd say if I used it on 5 caps on a board, at least 2 would actually fall out after 1 pass on each lead. the ones that don't fall out need just a fraction of a second of heat and they pull out.
        36 Monitors, 3 TVs, 4 Laptops, 1 motherboard, 1 Printer, 1 iMac, 2 hard drive docks and one IP Phone repaired so far....

Comment

i have a pogo sucker as well... it blew an e clip, so i fixed it for good using some bare wire and some solder... its better for bigger amounts...

the tips are cheap... someone in a review said weller PL111 tips fit it as well.
          sigpic

Comment