Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Power Supplies and Power Supply Design
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2005, 02:46 PM   #1
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default ISO-p500spp Psu 420W

i needed a cheapie case today and surprise there was something more substantial than the usual L&C lightweight special inside. Anyway i ask you psu gurus for your opinion. safe to use?









has a big coil/transformer whatever under the lid which i forgot to show.

anyway crap or not?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iso01.jpg (70.2 KB, 424 views)
File Type: jpg iso2.jpg (165.1 KB, 423 views)
File Type: jpg iso3.jpg (77.6 KB, 425 views)
File Type: jpg iso4.jpg (81.3 KB, 419 views)
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 02:54 PM   #2
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

the case was pretty funny actually. looked magnificent from the outside, black with a chrome plastic trim at the top. anyway i get it back and find it has rails for the floppy and the hdd. the hdd ok the tray was 90 degrees to normal so was really convenient access from the side panel.

the floppy heh the floppy had rails but you could not insert it with the front panel on, you had to remove the front panel with 6 screws. that is to insert a floppy that would normally have required 4 screws. how are the rails supposed to be a faster solution that way??? damn chinese.

anyway looks real good it is nice black dvd rom and floppy are no longer premium items.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 04:18 PM   #3
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

It doesn't look that bad but don't expect that it can deliver 420W
That big heavy coil is for passive PFC.
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 04:45 PM   #4
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

Quote:
It doesn't look that bad but don't expect that it can deliver 420W
heh ok it is only for p4, 1 hdd, dvdr etc. if it can last longer than a year or two without nuking the rest of the pc then i can get a fortron. thats why i wanted to know if it is dangerous.

just need to get some new cheapie pcs past management. you know how it is. PII is my mission to be eliminated. 2 more to go.

Last edited by willawake; 12-09-2005 at 04:47 PM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 05:43 PM   #5
davmax
Badcaps Veteran
 
davmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 886
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

Hi Willawake. You get some good pictues on your posts. How is it done? I can insert attachments but have not discovered how to get to the next step.
__________________
Gigabyte EP45-DS3L Ultra Reliable (Power saver)
Intel E8400 (3000Mhz) Bios temps. 4096Mb 800Mhz DDR2 Corsair XMS2 4-4-4-12
160Gb WD SATAII Server grade
Nvidia 8500GT 256Mb
160Gb WD eSATAII Server grade for backup.
Samsung 18x DVD writer
Pioneer 16x DVD writer + 6x Dual layer
33 way card reader
Windows XP Pro SP3
Thermaltake Matrix case with 430W Silent Power
17" Benq FP737s LCD monitor
HP Officejet Pro K5300 with refillable tanks
davmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 06:11 PM   #6
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

yeah you click the manage attachments button to upload the attachments. then you copy and paste the links into the post from either the attachment window or either the additional options below your post.

so for instance i upload monika as an attachment and copy and paste her link.

http://www.badcaps.net/forum/attachm...ntid=707&stc=1

doesnt work though. i need to select the link in the post and click the yellow picture button then the image is shown in the post like so.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg monika.jpg (58.9 KB, 386 views)
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 06:35 PM   #7
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

I'd say that's safe to use. It looks like the insides of an Enermax 300W P4 Ready PSU, but is it heavy willawake?
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition 3.3GHz Six-Core CPU (Socket AM3)
ASUS M4A77TD AMD 770 AM3 Motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 Graphics Card
G.SKILL Value Series 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD (x2)
WD Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-750M 750W ATX12V v2.32 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Antec Three Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 06:39 PM   #8
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

it weighs much more than an L&C but less than monika.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 06:47 PM   #9
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

If they weigh much more than an L&C that's good. I'm say it is safe to use. I used an L&C LC-B450 E 450W P4 Ready ATX PSU in my brother's system that's using a Celeron 2.2GHz Socket 478 processor and it's working fine. A PSU may be heavy but not as heavy as Monika, the person that's your avatar!
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 06:57 PM   #10
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,298
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

heatsinks look a bit skimpy for the ratings.note the decieving 500 in the model and the max 420w rating.maybe they use fans that sound like air raid sirens to make up for the heatsinks?loose a fan and it goes poof!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 11:03 PM   #11
bobcaygeon
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

I have a few similarly decieving name ISO-400 (same logo and everything) which are actually 300W PS. One went "poof" ... not sure what the failure mode was though.... didnt have a chance to pop-the-top (didnt smell like it completely cooked; it just made a quiet snap while I was in front of it, and no more computer) Swapped out the P/S, and everything on the computer was OK at least!
bobcaygeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:19 AM   #12
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

Quote:
I have a few similarly decieving name ISO-400 (same logo and everything) which are actually 300W PS. One went "poof" ...
wow actual user report. thanks.

Quote:
heatsinks look a bit skimpy for the ratings.
kc8 is right. heatsinks are closer to L&C size rather than quality.
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 06:59 AM   #13
monika
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
City & State: prague
Posts: 2
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

Quote:
A PSU may be heavy but not as heavy as Monika
are you saying that i am FAT?
monika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:11 AM   #14
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,298
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by monika
are you saying that i am FAT?
get him monika!kick his ass!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:41 AM   #15
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by monika
are you saying that i am FAT?
No, my Antec PSU weighs 5 pounds and no teenager/adult weighs 5 pounds.
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 07:47 AM   #16
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,693
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

Quote:
Originally Posted by monika
are you saying that i am FAT?
WTF? I smell a troll...................
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Motherboard Repair Services

----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 08:47 AM   #17
linuxguru
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

> anyway crap or not?

It's not crap, merely over-rated. It should be good for 200-250W - the secondary-side caps seem to be Elna/Chemicon, so it should be OK. Just pre-emptively replace the auxiliary primary-side flyback capacitor (visible to the right of the top-most transformer on the 2nd pic) with a long-life Nichicon PW(M) or Chemicon LXA and you should be OK for many years of safe use.
linuxguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 11:31 AM   #18
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

My guess for its real wattage would be 300W, the insides of that thing kind of looks like the internals of an Enermax 300W P4 Ready PSU. The heatsinks in the Enermax are not much bigger than the ones in willawake's ISO PSU but look better. The ISO PSU isn't crap, it's just over-rated.
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 03:02 PM   #19
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 557
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

yeah I was going to say that it looks like a decent PSU. Never seen Elna caps in a PSU before, should defnitely be ok for a p3.
__________________
The great capacitor showdown!
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 03:07 PM   #20
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: Iso-p500spp Psu

the caps are made by Koshin? not elna



koshin shitake mushrooms?



didnt find something really, only italian distro with koshin caps
http://www.adelco.it/online/company/Koshin/pdf/KRM.pdf
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Medium-Shiitake_big.jpg (32.0 KB, 296 views)
File Type: jpg koshin.jpg (41.4 KB, 293 views)

Last edited by willawake; 12-10-2005 at 03:48 PM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?