Ubuntu v6.10 - comments, thoughts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ubuntu v6.10 - comments, thoughts?

Does anyone have comments or thoughts about the Ubuntu v6.10? Seems I remember hearing somewhere (here?) that a newer version was coming out and it was supposed to be better? Limit on a PC's age or hardware?

Re: Ubuntu v6.10 - comments, thoughts?

I started using Linux with Fedora Core 1, and I have been using SuSE for about 2 years.

I just installed Ubuntu 6.10, I wanted to try out an add-on called Linux MCE. My thoughts on it are that it seems to hide a lot of things from the user. Programs that are installed are not available from the menus, by default. I finally found a config GUI where I could show all of the programs that were installed.

Ubuntu is an off-shoot of Debian, which I had never used before. Everything seems to work OK, or no better/worse than other Linux distros.

You download Ubuntu as a single CD (Fedora and SuSE take four or five CDs). You can run the CD as a "Live CD", Just boot into the CD. This usually only works well if you have a lot of memory. Otherwise the computer will be slow and unresponsive. Do this if you want to check it out first. You install from the live boot.

On the up side, Ubuntu seems to be very popular. So there is a lot of support out there.

Paul

Comment

Hi Paul,