Antec Power Supply

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Antec Power Supply

Newbie here. Have repaired various LCD's recently - never a power supply. Picked up a used Antec Aria case - but has a bad AR300 power supply. Upon inspection I noticed a bulging cap - and the component next to it unsoldered, obviously it got hot. Did the bad cap cause this or vice versa? What is the other component? The other caps look fine - from what I can see - they are all teapos. This is an odd shaped PSU or would just replace. Thanks!
    Attached Files

Re: Antec Power Supply

Is that a picofuse?
    "We have offered them (the Arabs) a sensible way for so many years. But no, they wanted to fight. Fine! We gave them technology, the latest, the kind even Vietnam didn't have. They had double superiority in tanks and aircraft, triple in artillery, and in air defense and anti-tank weapons they had absolute supremacy. And what? Once again they were beaten. Once again they scrammed [sic]. Once again they screamed for us to come save them. Sadat woke me up in the middle of the night twice over the phone, 'Save me!' He demanded to send Soviet troops, and immediately! No! We are not going to fight for them."

-Leonid Brezhnev (On the Yom Kippur War)

Comment

No, it's a zener diode. Marking on the board is ZD4.

There are other threads in here about these PSU's:
      https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6646
      https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7169

These are limited to Antec for supply due to the oddball casing. These people still show stock (51) even though it's the AR350 model (check the case size):
      http://www.provantage.com/antec-ar350~7ANT900Q.htm

I'd replace the cap and put the diode back in place and test the unit. If it comes on and voltages are (near) correct, recap the entire unit. If not, get the new one and recap it.

Toast
      veritas odium parit

Comment