Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

RCA L42WD22 No Picture

Hi

I was given a 42" LCD L42WD22 from a friend to see if I could fix it... I have had no luck thus far. Here's the breakdown.

Symptoms

- No Picture at all (black screen) when TV is turned ON

- No clicking or hissing noises when TV is turned ON

- TV powers ON (Green LED Constant)

- Sound works

- No standby LED when TV is OFF (not sure if this model has a standby light)

Tests I've Run

- Visual check for bad capacitors was negative (no bulging or popping)

- Visual check for cracks in circuit board was negative

I am very new to LCD repair and only attempted this because I have successfully repaired my Samsung LCD by replacing the bad capacitors I found.

I am going to be checking for bad solder (cold solder) joints but I'm not sure where to focus my search.

Has anyone else had problems of this nature?
    Last edited by Doming0; 09-20-2010, 01:43 AM.

Re: RCA L42WD22 No Picture

1. Is there any flash of light from the backlights (best viewed from the back of the TV with the back removed)?

2. Have you tried shining a flashlight on the screen to see if a display is present when power up?

Summary: There are three possible failures.

1. A failure in the main board.

2. A failure in the LCD panel / Tcon

3. A failure in the inverter / backlight system. This could be as simple as a blown fuse.

As has been repeated countless times, one picture is worth a thousand words. Links to suggestions on posting pictures are in my signature.

PlainBill
    For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.

Comment

Sorry, no pictures yet.

BUT

I have found 3 blown capacitors. 2 out of 2 on the MAIN and 1 out of 2 on the SLAVE LCD Board.