Macbook Air 820-00165 board power pulsing twice and missing PM_SLP_S4_L

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Macbook Air 820-00165 board power pulsing twice and missing PM_SLP_S4_L

I have a 820-00165 board that is power pulsing twice going from drawing 34mA up to ~350mA then back down to 34. No fan spin. It is missing the PM_SLP_S4_L signal. As I have no previous experience with this particular problem, I've been measuring a lot and have already replaced U1900 and U1950. I've also replaced R5513 near the SMC that looked corroded. The behavior of the power pulsing twice has not changed.

I've watched some of Louis' youtube videos on the issue and have checked the SPI resistors for continuity and they are good, probe points are also excellent, no signs of corrosion. The board condition looked very good on first inspection under the microscope with some minor dust accumulation.

These are the signals I've measured:
    PPBUS_G3H - 8.6v
    PPBUS_S5_HS_OTHER_ISNS - 8.6v
    PPBUS_S5_HS_COMPUTING_ISNS - 8.6v
    PPDCIN_G3H_ISOL - 14.8v
    PPDCIN_G3H - 14.85v
    PP3v42_G3H - 3.43v
    PPVRTC_G3H - 3.3v
    PP5V_S5 - 5v
    PP3v3_S5 - 3.3v
    PP3v3_SUS - 3.3v

PP3v3_S4 - 0.025v
    PM_SLP_S4_L - 0v

PM_SYSRST_L: 0.55v
    PM_PCH_PWROK: 0.144v
    PM_RSMRST_L: 3.286v
    PM_PWRBTN_L: 3.421v
    SMC_ADAPTER_EN: 3.428v
    PM_BATLOW_L: 0.036v

These are the signals I've noticed that are pulsing twice and then dropping to 0v:
    PP5v_S4RS3
    PP5v_S4
    PP5v_S0_FET_R
    PP1v05_S0
    PM_S0_PGOOD

I've inspected the condition of the PCH/CPU and it looks good, no cracks or defects are visible. I have measured the PPVCC_S0_CPU resistance at C1031 @ 20 Ohms.

I've thought maybe there is a short somewhere, I have measured a number of caps with no resistance values that looked low. Any help you can offer is appreciated, thanks for your time.

Re: Macbook Air 820-00165 board power pulsing twice and missing PM_SLP_S4_L

Remove all power.