Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dell E152/153fpc

Hello all,

I was hoping I could get some tips on replacing a bad cap or two on the inverter board for the afformentioned LCD. As mentioned in a couple other places on the forum this board has two HER-MEI caps rated at 1000 micro Farads, 16V and 105 C.

I looked up the caps on the Hermei website and it appears they have been upgraded or replaced. However, the caps I have appear to be of an older model HERMEI LE line. Since I am brand new to recapping I don't want to replace the current caps with ones that don't do the intended job. If anyone that is familiar with this particular recapping or LCD repair in general cared to give some tips on what kind of caps to use (exactly) it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Re: Dell E152/153fpc

First off Hermei is a known crap cap brand and you should replace all of the caps on the secondary side of the supply. Since they in time will go too.

The proper type of caps to use on the inverter area are known as Low ESR or Low Impedance caps.

Panasonic FC series is a good one for inverters.

Also any low ESR cap from Panasonic, Nippon Chemi-con, Nichicon, Rubycon, or Samxon will do fine as well.

These are high quality capacitor manufacturers.
    Elements of the past and the future combining to make something not quite as good as either.

Comment

Thanks for the reply krankshaft. I also noticed what appears to be discoloration of the board around the area of the affected cap. Is this normal or should I be concerned about damage elsewhere on the board?

Comment

Discoloration on the board (assuming that area isn't near a high temp part like a heatsink, high voltage transformer, or switching transformer which in that case would be normal) having it around a cap signifies that the cap was overheating which is a sign that the cap is toast.

You didn't mention in your post whats wrong with the monitor?