Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Desktop Motherboards, Graphics Cards, and PC Peripherals
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2004, 06:41 PM   #1
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,035
Default Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

I have seen this on every MSI 694D Pro 1.0 I've recapped. Between PCI slots 2 and 3, resides C390. The cap value stock is 1000uF 6.3v. Of course upon receiving the board, this cap is vented like many others. I recapped the board, of course replacing C390. I then would connect the board to my jig and burn it in for a while... Within the first 30 minutes or so, C390 would be vented again. I checked to make sure I installed it correctly, and the correct voltage. It was correct, so I assumed I had a dud for a replacement cap (Rubycon's, so this scenario was unlikely). I replaced it again, and tested again... Same result. Within the first 30 minutes, C390 vented again. Through this whole ordeal, the board was working fine.

At this point, I was puzzled... So I flipped the board over and read the voltage on the cap while the board was powered up and running the tests. On C390, I placed the '+' meter lead on the '+' cap lead, same thing with the neg leads. To my surprise, there was a -3.9v on the cap. I had to do a doubletake and make sure I had the leads attached correctly, and they were. There is a negative voltage on the C390 position when reading the cap position according to the polarity marking on the board.

I installed another Rubycon replacement, only this time I installed it backward. Opposite of the board polarity markings, and the board has been running flawlessly for over a week now, no more venting of C390.

Like I said, I've seen this on MANY MSI 694D Pro boards, so it was not an isolated case, or just a 'quirk' with one particular board. I will post some pics soon.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 11:02 PM   #2
BigBadBiologist
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
City & State: Lake Pleasant, MA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

Interesting! Nice find.
BigBadBiologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 11:16 PM   #3
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,444
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

This post is well over a year old! Guess Topcat didn't get those pics "soon"
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 06:04 AM   #4
MisterGank
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
City & State: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 9
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

So my question is, Do you suggest to all 694D owners to install this one backwards?
MisterGank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 10:16 AM   #5
SonicSteve
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
City & State: Brampton, ON, CA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

this is quite strange indeed.
I have 2 of these boards exactly as described. They were given to me as dead boards that a friend of mine tried to replace the 2700uf caps. He used them as servers until the 2700uf's blew. The c390 caps don't look bad but.... I'm tempted to try this. The only thing is that venting after 30mins, that's insanley fast. By those standards the board shouldn't have worked to begin with.
SonicSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 02:31 PM   #6
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5,131
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

Then it was most likley installed reversed, note that on some mobos the silkscreen is incorrect so check with a multimeter...
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 09:35 AM   #7
Fizzycapola
Badcaps Veteran
 
Fizzycapola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: England
Posts: 411
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

Nice article Topcat, always nice to see manufacturers making mistakes.
__________________
Rubycon Rubycon Rubycon
Fizzycapola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 09:22 PM   #8
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,622
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

i didnt know those msi boards came with a coupon for a free cup of fail!
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 12:47 AM   #9
rowentan
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

Does this wrong polarity capped issue happens on Intel's Motherboard too? I've encountered many Intel motherboards with bulging caps even though high quality caps were used.
rowentan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 01:17 AM   #10
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: Design Flaw on MSI 694D Pro ver:1.0

Not that I'm aware of. Sometimes they used Nichicon HM/HN which are not as high quality as some think. Nichicon are japanese, but the HM and HN had manufacturing flaws which they fixed in 2005. If the caps were made in or before that year, they would have been affected.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?