Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 12:02 PM   #1
romanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Gilbert, AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Hello, looks like there are some smart / experienced folks on here so thought I'd ask for help in trying to fix a tv.

My Background: noob/enthusiast when it comes to fixing electronics, pro when it comes to using them . I'm very mechanichaly inclined though just need to know what to do.

Story: saw a plasma at goodwill, looked good, red standby light was on but tv didn't power on, 30 bucks, figured it was worth getting and seeing if I could get lucky. Plus I used to have a pioneer elite projection tv, that had power supply issues (ended up just being bad connections on power supply board from heating and cooling, made it work).

TV: Pioneer Plasma PDP427CMX

Issue: won't power on when pressing power button, standby red LED on front of tv stays on, solid red when tv plugged in and power switch is turned on.

Goal: to make this TV work, hoping that it's something simple and not a few boards that actually need replacing at a few hundred bucks a piece, would be sad to throw away such a nice piece

What I've done so far:
-took back of plasma off
-researched what could be wrong when similar issues
-results came back as bad power supply board or caps
-looked around all boards and caps and everything looks good
-also noticed a red LED on power supply board that is not on and a tiny red LED on a small board next to power supply board that is on, so small that i wouldn't notice it was an LED if it wasn't on (not sure if these are supposed to be on or off but wanted to say in case it means anything).
-checked connections on boards, all look good
-researched more about caps
-noticed two caps on power supply board (near them the part of the board was labeled "secondary") could possibly be bad, were just slightly bloated on top, ordered same 2 caps on mouser (250V 820uF), removed old ones, soldered on new ones, plugged in TV, power switch on, crossed my fingers, pressed power.... nothing changed .


Not too surprised since i troubleshoot stuff all the time and usually first thing usually doesn't fix the issue, would be nice though .

So now I'm here because I don't give up that easy and hoping that maybe someone can give me some input on what/how to check or maybe someone here has worked on one of these TV's.

Tried to be as descriptive as I could but if I missed something please let me know, also can post pics later tonight if they might help.

Thanks for reading and look forward to any asistance on the matter so i can press that power button and smile when that red standby light turns to green!
romanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:16 PM   #2
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,863
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Be careful with these sets. They have a light sensor which locks them out (I kid you not) if you try to power them up with the cover removed. There IS a way to reset it but it's a pain in the behind and requires the original remote.

Sienoki knows a lot about these, he fixed a similar 43", apparently the media box was at fault.
__________________
Don't PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

64 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 23 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 8 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 4 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 6 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 9 LG LCD/Plasma, 14 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 18 Vestel LCDs
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:10 PM   #3
romanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Gilbert, AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Thanks for your reply tom66.
Yikes! tried powering up with the cover off, so maybe I am locked out, I don't know how to tell, that's crazy. I also don't have the remote. But maybe the lockout feature only works if the tv is functioning properly?
Media box? like dvd/direct tv box/ps3? I don't have the TV hooked up to anything, it should still power on at least without anything hooked up right?
romanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:32 PM   #4
Mt.Man
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Atlanta, GA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 53
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Tom66, JVC uses the light sensor. Pioneer uses the trap switch that the back cover keeps pushed in. Just tape down the switch before connecting to AC.

This TV is G7 series. Trap indication is the Red & Blue LED's are on. TV is in lock down mode.

To reset:
• Using the customer’s remote control enter “service mode” by pressing the
following key sequence:
1. Press and release the “display” button.
2. Wait between 3 and 10 seconds
3. Press and release the “<”, “^”, “<”, “>”, and “power” buttons in sequence.
• Panel will now turn on in “service mode”.
4. Press “muting” button 3, 4 or 5 times depending on model you are working on.
Or until display shows the “initialize” page.
5. Press and hold the “display” button until the error indicator (red LED) on
either the panel or the media receiver goes out.
6. Exit service mode by pressing the “power” button on the remote.

If your in just constant Red LED on front panel, that standby mode. Pressing power on the remote you should hear relays clicking on the power board. If nothing you may have a bad main board. Usually when the TV fires up and detects an error your Red and Blue LED's will give you a blink error code.
Mt.Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:46 PM   #5
sienoki
sienoki
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: uk..LEEDS
Posts: 293
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by romanator View Post
Thanks for your reply tom66.
Yikes! tried powering up with the cover off, so maybe I am locked out, I don't know how to tell, that's crazy. I also don't have the remote. But maybe the lockout feature only works if the tv is functioning properly?
Media box? like dvd/direct tv box/ps3? I don't have the TV hooked up to anything, it should still power on at least without anything hooked up right?
Hey up fella..im not sure if your tv needs a media receiver box inorder for your tv 2 work..from a little research it seems you dont..so if you take pictures of your insides of the plasma im sure sum1 will point u in the right direction
sienoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:16 PM   #6
romanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Gilbert, AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

LED in front of set doesn't blink, stays constant red. I don't have the remote, when I press the power button, nothing happens exept the one little red LED on a small board between the power board and the main board turns on and also stays constant red (don't know if there's any significance to this little light), no clicking no buzzing, no humming, fans don't turn on.

I'll take some pictures this evening and post them in case that helps solve anything. Thanks for the replies guys, appreciate any input to lead me in the right direction.
romanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:40 PM   #7
romanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Gilbert, AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

here are a pics of the back panel and power supply, any way for me to check if the power supply is working properly? I have a multimeter. Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0097.jpg (1,011.9 KB, 69 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0098.jpg (891.9 KB, 50 views)
romanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:42 AM   #8
romanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Gilbert, AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

any ideas guys? What would you check?
Thanks,
romanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:27 AM   #9
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,863
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Once that small LED on the board is on, does pressing the power button again turn it off?
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:59 AM   #10
romanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Gilbert, AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

nope, doesn't seem to do anything
romanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:53 AM   #11
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,863
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

That generally points to either:
a) locked out (have you tried above method for unlocking?)
b) other mainboard problem

As you have power but main board is going no further once turned on.
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 03:03 PM   #12
romanator
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Gilbert, AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

I don't have the blue light on, just the red, I'll try it tonight with my universal remote since I don't have the original.. or I wonder if the sequeence can be entered using the buttons on the TV, I'll find out.
romanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 04:51 PM   #13
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 24,863
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

You need to use the original remote or one which has all of the functions available. Since the TV doesn't work you can't confirm that but it's worth a shot...
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 11:20 AM   #14
betta
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: pisa
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Hi, I have what seems to be exactly the same problem with a pioneer PDP 42MXE10: Red light in standby and it does not turn on. The pictures that you posted look exactly as the inside of my monitor. Did you have any success in fixing the problem? Did you try to check the integrity of the voltage at the outputs of the power supply board using a multimeter?
betta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:00 PM   #15
cadiman
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
City & State: chesterland Ohio
Posts: 398
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

This set should have red and blue leds that will both be lit if powered on with cover removed. (lock out)

I am not sure if all cmx models have both leds or not.

The main problem with these sets is buffer chip failure. The bigger problem is the buffer ics are part of the plasma panel and need to be replaced while still attached to the panel as there are no connectors from the panel to the buffer boards.
cadiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 08:29 AM   #16
irep
Member
 
irep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: portugal
My Country: portugal
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 20
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

But if it was it should lit 3 times.

Still pointing to Power source problem. and also check cables connections to boards.

Also check atservice manual the output voltages in standby mode.
irep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 10:18 AM   #17
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,154
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Are you trying to power up the set with the switch on the bottom of the tv? That switch only kills the standby. Some pioneers like tom66 said require the remote control to power it up only.
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 05:20 PM   #18
kokomoto
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Acton Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

I just bought a used Pioneer TV, model PDP-5070HD and all was working well until today. It went on Standby mode, and I couldn't get the power to turn on. I unplugged it, waited a bit, plugged it in, but still couldn't turn it on. I am not a technie or a mechie, but after trying a bunch of things, I thought over what I had done earlier in the day . . . I had hooked my PC up to the TV, chosen PC input, and changed my display so it would show on the TV. I had watched TV for a while, then walked away. I think the TV went into Standby mode because my PC would have gone to sleep, thus making the TV go into Standby mode after a while. That was the only different thing I had done today. So my "fix": with the TV in Standby mode, I pushed the "PC" input button and fiddled around with computer display settings, and I may have punched a few other buttons, but basically I put the TV back in the mode before it went to sleep, and then I managed to get the power back on. I wonder if some of these problems around not being able to get the TV out of Standby mode is simply that the input is wrong combined with the wrong display setting. Once I got the TV on, I checked my Power settings to turn off Standby, but Standby had already been disabled, so in future when I'm using my TV to watch something on my PC, I will make sure I put the input back to the HDMI input for my cable converter. I have since turned my TV off and on without problem.
kokomoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:26 AM   #19
dabbott231
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
City & State: Shelby Twp, Mi
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pioneer Plasma TV on standby and won't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mt.Man View Post
Tom66, JVC uses the light sensor. Pioneer uses the trap switch that the back cover keeps pushed in. Just tape down the switch before connecting to AC.

This TV is G7 series. Trap indication is the Red & Blue LED's are on. TV is in lock down mode.

To reset:
• Using the customer’s remote control enter “service mode” by pressing the
following key sequence:
1. Press and release the “display” button.
2. Wait between 3 and 10 seconds
3. Press and release the “<”, “^”, “<”, “>”, and “power” buttons in sequence.
• Panel will now turn on in “service mode”.
4. Press “muting” button 3, 4 or 5 times depending on model you are working on.
Or until display shows the “initialize” page.
5. Press and hold the “display” button until the error indicator (red LED) on
either the panel or the media receiver goes out.
6. Exit service mode by pressing the “power” button on the remote.

If your in just constant Red LED on front panel, that standby mode. Pressing power on the remote you should hear relays clicking on the power board. If nothing you may have a bad main board. Usually when the TV fires up and detects an error your Red and Blue LED's will give you a blink error code.
Will this work with Pioneer PDP5072HD?
dabbott231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?