Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
Oconnorp
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Toshiba 32AV502RZ

Hi all, last week I jumped into a thread I thought was for my TV model but it turns out the board in question was a different part number. I was asked to provide the pictures of my board in my own thread so here goes.

My TV will not turn on, when I push power button or use remote nothing happens, no error code no blinking lights. I took the back cover off and found the main fuse had blown, tried replacing it and as soon as I plugged it back in the new fuse blew again. Following the previous thread I tested the bridge rectifier and it did not pass the test. Using a multimeter on OHM setting I tested points one and 2 on the rectifier and with the leads one way I got no reading and when reversed i got a reading. On points 3 and 4 i get a reading both way the multimeter leads are connected. Are there any other things that I should check or would the bridge rectifier be enough to cause the main fuse to blow? I have attached pictures of both the front and back of the board and the part number.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated

Paul
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Belleville-20120525-00122.jpg (203.1 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg Belleville-20120525-00125.jpg (177.7 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg Quinte West-20120525-00123.jpg (195.3 KB, 15 views)
Oconnorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 05:52 PM   #2
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 27,139
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

I seem to remember someone on this forum reporting exactly the same issue with a 32" Toshiba. It turned out to be the surge suppressor TVS1 which had failed.

You can temporarily remove it and test the TV without it before ordering a replacement to see if it is at fault. Without it, the TV won't have much protection from mains surges, but it will be fine for a 5 minute test.
__________________
Please do not PM me for help and support. Questions belong on the public forum.

70 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 26 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers saved from the dump!
Totally free service manuals database: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ (Contact me for requests or contributions.)

I have successfully fixed (from best --> worst build quality):
1 Pioneer KURO 9G, 10 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 10 LG LCD/Plasma, 16 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 19 Vestel LCDs

Last edited by tom66; 05-25-2012 at 05:55 PM..
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 06:55 PM   #3
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15,507
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

It was this thread: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=20565
That Model has shorted TVS. I asked Oconnorp to post new thread since his TV is not the same model or boards.
@Oconnorp, please post straight shot pictures of the boards with good lights, I can hardly see anything on the pictures, thanks.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:07 AM   #4
Oconnorp
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

sorry thought these posted over the weekend. Not sure what happened. Here are the pictures front and back. Hopefully better than the other ones
Attached Images
File Type: jpg back.jpg (425.6 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg front.jpg (429.2 KB, 24 views)
Oconnorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:34 AM   #5
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,246
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

On the back of the board - primary side there is a largish 8 legged component
Looks damaged in the picture - is it? Has it got a part number on it that yu can read.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:41 AM   #6
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 27,139
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

Use your multimeter on the 200 ohm range to check this device TVS1. You should see no change when probing it if it is good. Do this with the TV unplugged.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shortcheck.jpg (213.8 KB, 34 views)
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:15 PM   #7
Oconnorp
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

The 8 legged creature looks ok to me, must be a shadow in the picture. I probed the tvs1 as indicated in your picture it reads 0.6 steady when I hold the probes on it.

Thanks
Oconnorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:19 PM   #8
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15,507
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

0.6 Ohm? That sound like the same problem with the other Toshiba on that thread you were asking the question, the TVS was shorted out. You can remove it, put in the new fuse to test, the TV should come on now
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:22 AM   #9
randtek
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
City & State: US Midwest
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz (allegedly)
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 270
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

While you can remove it for testing, I would not plan on just leaving it out. It is part of the surge protection on the power supply. Leaving that part out would leave your TV more susceptible to lightning/surge damage.
randtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 09:31 PM   #10
Oconnorp
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

Thanks guys I will try removing it tomorrow as a test and let you know how I make out.
Oconnorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 01:58 PM   #11
Oconnorp
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 9
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

Removed tvs1 and tv will now power on. Thanks. What is next step?

Thanks again
Oconnorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:08 PM   #12
tom66
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds (University)
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 27,139
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oconnorp View Post
Removed tvs1 and tv will now power on. Thanks. What is next step?

Thanks again
Replace the TVS with one such as this device.

http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...PCT-ND/2776400

Check the lead diameter (1.3mm max) will fit the hole.
tom66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 07:45 PM   #13
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15,507
Default Re: Toshiba 32AV502RZ

Or this one from Mouser:
Surge protection: BI-DIRCETIONAL TVS
Vishay:
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...dcLaMwTMwps%3d

Which was used in the other TOSHIBA on another post.

I would go with DIGIKEY since they will do USPS shipping at low cost.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2014
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Did you find this forum helpful?