BenQ 24 Monitor FP241W - PSU Cap is dead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BenQ 24 Monitor FP241W - PSU Cap is dead

Been reading a LOT on this forum, and its amazing. I have learned so much.. (and I'm a tech!)

Anyway, I have this 5 year old BenQ 24 inch.. was using the PC and I hear a sizzling sound, then POP! Won't power up at all.

Open the back, looked at all the caps--no bulges (but that doesn't mean much).. BUT, I find on the power supply board that the one big cap (the Elite 450 / 120μF)
    I can visually see the acid (brown rust looking stuff) trying to ooze out. The board didn't have any on it thank god.. every thing looked fine..

Looks a LOT like this image:

http://i1188.photobucket.com/albums/...10603-1828.jpg

It's about 2 inches long.. 1/2 inch thick.. big one.

Other text on it is:

Elite 450 / 120μF
    PW (M) 105c
    (C)0623
    and PET is repeated along the side of the cap...

The "POP" was probably the fuse, right?
    It's a 'white' ceramic fuse--hate that-- info is T4AH (and or TR601) / 250V

I have a volt meter, but what settings should I use to check the fuse? 250 volts..? I am totally new to caps and this stuff.. I can build a PC blind folded, and have fixed a PS3 with the no clean flux re-flow, but this is beyond me, and I need help. You guys are amazing, and I thank you for this forum, and its members.

I'm just in love with this BenQ.. its the old 16:10.. (I bought a new BenQ, but Its a 16:9) and I really do miss that inch. lol... so If I can get this up and running, I'll be running 3D MAX with 2 monitors..
    or playing Battlefield 3..

Thank you!! If you need a picture of the cap, I can go open it back up and take some shots.. I have a good DSLR.

Thanks again!!!

Ziroc
    Last edited by Ziroc; 03-18-2013, 12:13 AM.

Re: BenQ 24 Monitor FP241W - No Power (PSU Cap bad?)

Originally posted by Ziroc View Post

It's a 'white' fuse--hate that-- info is T4AH (and or TR601) / 250V