lg 42pc1da sound but no picture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

lg 42pc1da sound but no picture

Hi all, new here but I have a 42" LG plasma that I got for nothing, it made a loud pop and he picture went on it. I did some troubleshooting but nothing too crazy because I have limited electronics repair experience. The y-sustain had a blown fuse and cold heat sinks after leaving it on for 20 minutes. So, I replaced the y sustain and buffer but it is still the same. The x sustain was replaced in 2010 and the tv hasn't been used since it broke in 2011 so I don't think that's the issue. All fuses are still good, I checked those, but the board on the center back has a few green leds and one red one, d1303. Sorry for the long post but any ideas? Could the y sustain I got be busted too?

Cliff notes: replaced x sustain, y sustain, y buffer and still no picture.

Re: lg 42pc1da sound but no picture

Highly likely the 'new' sus board has a popped IPM too They have come to that age when they are failing, and most popular item to go is either of the two IPM's on the SUS boards.

IPM type is-- YPPD-J018C/E ....

Check through past posts on that model for testing info to check it out.
    TELEFIX

How PLASMA SCREENS WORK, X-SUS and Y-SUS what they do--
    http://www.irf.com/technical-info/appnotes/an-1088.pdf
    PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL ME PRIVATELY FOR REPAIR ADVICE. QUESTIONS BELONG ON THE FORUM!

Comment

Thank you for the response, I just tested the ipm on the old y board, it was toast. He new one however is fine, could the x board be gone again too? What else would cause no picture but maintain sound? I was under he impression it was a y sustain issue

Edit: I'm sorry, I keep saying x sustain for some reason, I mean z.
      Last edited by rdsx18; 05-04-2014, 06:21 AM.

Comment

The IPM's dont always go short-circuit!

The MOSFETS can first short--Then blow Open circuit, (Happens almost instantly) so a fault wont show on simple meter testing.