Vizio DPS-167DP-1 failure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vizio DPS-167DP-1 failure

I'm trying to troubleshoot a DPS-167DP-1 A power supply board from a Vizio M552i-B2 tv. The tv would no longer turn on, and I found the usual melting on IC901, with D950B and ZD909 shorted and R915 open. Sounds like this is a pretty common failure, so I replaced all four components expecting it to be an easy fix but it's still not working.

I checked D801 and it's fine. I get about 170V DC across the main filter capacitor C800A. I'm not getting any voltage on the 5V standby pins in connector CN101, nor any voltage on the VCC pin of IC901, which is presumably why it's not working -- the datasheet wants 11 to 25V on that pin. Can anyone tell me where that voltage is supposed to be generated? I must have another component failed in there somewhere, but I have no experience with power supplies so don't know where to look.

Maybe check Q800.

Comment

Originally posted by nomoresonys View Post
      Maybe check Q800.
      Thanks. I can't see what Q800 is under the heat sink, and I'm not sure what the correct way to test it is, but in-circuit (which I'm sure is not the correct way to test it but hoping to minimize further desoldering and resoldering) with my meter in diode test mode I get 0.63V or 1.93V across the outer legs depending on polarity. Plugging it in, the center leg is at 169V while the other two are 0V.