Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices > BIOS Requests ONLY!
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2019, 01:54 AM   #1
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 498
Default HP BIOS unlock tool

First check this site to see if your HP is supported for the great tool Mazzif has made.

http://mazzifsoftware.blogspot.com/p...os-unlock.html

If your model is newer and not in that list, you need to dump your bios, remove password from dump and reprogram bios with modified dump.

For that you need an SPI programmer like CH341A or Raspberry Pi with Flashrom or any other similar programmer. A soic8 clip is also useful so there wouldn't be a need to unsolder bios IC.

When you have your dump, just drag and drop your file on my HPUnlocker tool and it will create a new file. It will add "_unlocked" to the name of your locked file.

Just program the new file on your bios IC.

This unlocker should work on all Elite, EliteBook, ProBook and maybe some other series HP laptops.

For those of you who need to unlock large amounts of laptops, I recommend adding a registry entry:
Code:
Computer\HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\HPUnlocker\command
Then modify that string adding
Code:
"C:\*location-of-exe*\HPUnlocker.exe" "%1"
This way you just need to right click your locked file and select HPUnlocker.

If there are any issues, please do let me know so I can improve this tool.
Attached Files
File Type: rar HPUnlocker_v1.rar (4.65 MB, 1522 views)
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:51 AM   #2
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Rawalpindi
My Country: Pakistan
Line Voltage: 240Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
First check this site to see if your HP is supported for the great tool Mazzif has made.

http://mazzifsoftware.blogspot.com/p...os-unlock.html

If your model is newer and not in that list, you need to dump your bios, remove password from dump and reprogram bios with modified dump.

For that you need an SPI programmer like CH341A or Raspberry Pi with Flashrom or any other similar programmer. A soic8 clip is also useful so there wouldn't be a need to unsolder bios IC.

When you have your dump, just drag and drop your file on my HPUnlocker tool and it will create a new file. It will add "_unlocked" to the name of your locked file.

Just program the new file on your bios IC.

This unlocker should work on all Elite, EliteBook, ProBook and maybe some other series HP laptops.

For those of you who need to unlock large amounts of laptops, I recommend adding a registry entry:
Code:
Computer\HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\HPUnlocker\command
Then modify that string adding
Code:
"C:\*location-of-exe*\HPUnlocker.exe" "%1"
This way you just need to right click your locked file and select HPUnlocker.

If there are any issues, please do let me know so I can improve this tool.
Thanks or great work i appreciate..
Or how i contact you personal?

Last edited by imranromi; 10-09-2019 at 02:52 AM..
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:48 AM   #3
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 498
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

You can contact me by writing here, by sending me a personal message or by sending me an email through my profile here (click on my name -> send email).

I am working on some more tools, will try to post them aswell when I get them finished.

Last edited by RethoricalCheese; 10-09-2019 at 03:50 AM..
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 04:10 AM   #4
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Rawalpindi
My Country: Pakistan
Line Voltage: 240Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
You can contact me by writing here, by sending me a personal message or by sending me an email through my profile here (click on my name -> send email).

I am working on some more tools, will try to post them aswell when I get them finished.
I not have access or option i contact pm or email.Then i send you our email or request tool...
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 05:30 AM   #5
itsmagic1
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Germany
My Country: -
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

The tool works great for a HP 830 G5. It unlocks my Administration Password!

Thanx a lot!
itsmagic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 02:29 AM   #6
marcin02152
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: .
My Country: .
Posts: 122
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Working on ProBook 6470b. Tool Mazzif is "unsupported".
Thanx!
marcin02152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 09:50 PM   #7
ahok1213
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
City & State: Depok
My Country: Indonesia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

working on Elitebook 820 G3, thankyou!
ahok1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 10:26 PM   #8
fortinm
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
City & State: manila
My Country: philippines
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

thank you very much...
fortinm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 06:47 AM   #9
przemek_79
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Łódz
My Country: Poland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

thank you
przemek_79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 04:34 AM   #10
virginlulu
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
City & State: gansu
My Country: china
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Thank you!
virginlulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 08:46 AM   #11
bachir2004
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: casablanca
My Country: maroc
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 298
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Thanks for the nice work i really appreciate.
Will give feed back on every test.
bachir2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 02:26 PM   #12
coumcoum
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: algerie
My Country: algerie
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

hi
i download but not execut (Fatal error detected) - Failed to execute script HPUnlocker
coumcoum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 04:18 PM   #13
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 498
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Put it directly in C:/ or D:/ directory and don't use spaces or some strange characters in any names. I had the same problem when I had space in folder name (like "locked bios" should be changed to "locked_bios").

I can't really fix that problem because I usually don't write computer programs so I don't know much about such problems.

I will try to fix it one day but I have some other BIOS unlocking projects right now.
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 08:23 AM   #14
msdalaa
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
City & State: stora levene
My Country: Sweden
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Not working
msdalaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 10:20 AM   #15
foulou0238
Member
 
foulou0238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
City & State: Paris
My Country: france
Line Voltage: 230
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 95
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Hello This tool work with old Models ProBook and EliteBook like 8460p with old bios version the last version this tool won't work hp have the generator of SMC file
foulou0238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:29 PM   #16
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 498
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Msdalaa, what is not working? Send me your file, I will check.

Foulou0238, no, it works with newer versions too, like 840 G1, G2, G3 etc. Look at previous comments. If it didn't work with your file, send me your file, please.

Last edited by RethoricalCheese; 10-22-2019 at 01:39 PM..
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:46 PM   #17
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Rawalpindi
My Country: Pakistan
Line Voltage: 240Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by RethoricalCheese View Post
Msdalaa, what is not working? Send me your file, I will check.

Foulou0238, no, it works with newer versions too, like 840 G1, G2, G3 etc. Look at previous comments. If it didn't work with your file, send me your file, please.
I check this tool work for me 840 g3 100% without error
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 02:27 PM   #18
msdalaa
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
City & State: stora levene
My Country: Sweden
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Hi
i tried to open the tool but it doesn't work (Ftatl errer)
this is my hp probook file
Attached Files
File Type: rar 430g2.rar (3.86 MB, 86 views)
msdalaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 02:48 PM   #19
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Rawalpindi
My Country: Pakistan
Line Voltage: 240Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by msdalaa View Post
Hi
i tried to open the tool but it doesn't work (Ftatl errer)
this is my hp probook file
You need just pick file and drop tool and done
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 02:49 PM   #20
RethoricalCheese
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Tartu
My Country: Estonia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 498
Default Re: HP BIOS unlock tool

Just used it and works fine.

Did you put HPUnlocker.exe in C:\ or D:\ directory? If your directory has spaces or maybe some strange letters in it, it will give the error you wrote as I wrote before.
Attached Files
File Type: rar 430g2_unlocked.rar (3.86 MB, 118 views)
RethoricalCheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?