Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Desktop Motherboards, Graphics Cards, and PC Peripherals
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2008, 07:03 AM   #1
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,443
Default Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Was a bit surprised at this one. Board is fairly recent.

P4 3.0ghz
WD 160gb SATA HD
PCIe video card of some type
Originally shipped from Dell 8/9/2004


The Nichicon on the cap got blurred by the coil reflection.


All redone in panny FM's.

Original bad caps was a single 2200 6.3v and then (5) 1000uf 10v. I replaced the 1000 10v with 1200uf 10v because that was the closest thing I had in stock. PC runs great now
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 10:23 AM   #2
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,297
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

hn/hm are known bad caps.
ala gx270 boards.
100% fail rate in a year for several big customers.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 09:31 PM   #3
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

I know there is supposed to be a date range from bad ones, but I toss out all of 'em, no matter what.
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 04:13 PM   #4
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,295
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

2004? That's not recent. In terms of computer stuff, that's "considered" old and I take advantage of that to get socket 478 boards and cpu rather cheaply so I can upgrade our shop's computers from ANCIENT PII/Celeron/PIII mix. My pc was Athlon 3000+ with A7N8X in 2004 and finally replaced with Asus P5K and E2200.

Toss boards with bad caps out? You mean swap the bad caps off with new caps?

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 06:28 PM   #5
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,443
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

I hear ya, wizard. But with PCI-express and SATA native on-board, it's "new" to me. I'm still running a socket A AthlonXP system for my primary. With good old AGP! And, the only way I have SATA primary HD and optical is because I bought a controller card for them.
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 09:10 AM   #6
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

I'm still on Socket A also. MSI boards, 400 FSB, DDR-400, AGP8x.

This is changing, as I have an E8400, GA-P35-DS3, DDR2-800 on the bench right now. I'm tinkering with the ideal fan combination for the Scythe Zipang heat sink I got for this board.

It's about ready to install the OS. I have to build this machine offline, as it is replacing my primary workstation. I cannot have this machine down for a few days while I build the new one. Push/Pull arrangement.

As to the Nichicons... I recap them as a matter of course. Bye, bye. I've done a number of 8400s for my clients. Both dead and preparing to die.
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 09:44 PM   #7
geforcefly
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

I ran into the same exact situation with a Dell Precision 370 (which uses the same motherboard as the Dimension 8400) so they aren't immune to the dreaded HN(M)s either.
geforcefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 12:21 AM   #8
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,443
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Just got another one of these in for recap.
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 08:59 AM   #9
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,295
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Whoops, I meant my P5K is my home main PC, and my work pc here is Dell Dimension 8300, yes HM cap in a row were burst. Replaced and tested with prime95 passed. Now running 2.8C.

Eventually replace that one as well. It's kind of "feeling sluggish".

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 12:55 PM   #10
MrVik
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Nowhere Land
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Hi dood. I have to recap an old Dell Dimension 8400 and would appreciate a cap list if possible. The computer is in service and I don't want to shut it down until I get the parts. Thanks for any help.
__________________
Why throw it away? I might need it in the next 40 years. Duh!
MrVik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 01:49 PM   #11
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVik
Hi dood. I have to recap an old Dell Dimension 8400 and would appreciate a cap list if possible. The computer is in service and I don't want to shut it down until I get the parts. Thanks for any help.
It's recommended to stop using a PC with bad capacitors on the motherboard, otherwise there is a chance the problem can get much worse.
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition 3.3GHz Six-Core CPU (Socket AM3)
ASUS M4A77TD AMD 770 AM3 Motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 Graphics Card
G.SKILL Value Series 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD (x2)
WD Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-750M 750W ATX12V v2.32 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Antec Three Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 09:16 PM   #12
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,674
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

yeah. a board with bad caps can be fixed, a board burnt up because someone didn't replace the caps is a paperweight. and a potential fire hazard
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 09:52 AM   #13
bgavin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
City & State: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 1,354
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Board Rev Cap Mfg Series uF Volt ESR Dia Len Count


02U819 - Dimension 8400 A01 Nichicon VR 470 16.0 8.0 2
02U819 - Dimension 8400 A01 Fujitsu M Yellow-K 560 4.0 8.0 12.5 5
02U819 - Dimension 8400 A01 Rubycon MBZ 820 6.3 8.0 13.0 2
02U819 - Dimension 8400 A01 Rubycon ZL 1000 6.3 10.0 14.0 1
02U819 - Dimension 8400 A01 Nichicon HD 2200 16.0 12.5 25.0 2
02U819 - Dimension 8400 A01 Nichicon HM 3300 6.3 10.0 25.0 4
bgavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 06:53 PM   #14
MrVik
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Nowhere Land
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Thank you very much bgavin, this will save me a lot of trouble. I appreciate your help. The first cap in your list, Nichicon VR 470, what is the voltage or am I just missing something? Thanks again.
MrVik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 07:25 PM   #15
370forlife
Large Marge
 
370forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
City & State: Kalamazoo, MI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 0-120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 2,924
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

its 16...wait...
__________________
370forlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:02 PM   #16
MrVik
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Nowhere Land
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Oh, I think I get it now. I might be too old and slow for membership on this board. Guess the "yoke" is on me, ha, ha. Bye.
MrVik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 11:36 PM   #17
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,674
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

its ok. too bad this forum has no table function
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 04:39 PM   #18
bones41
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

My Dell Dim 8400 has a cap that looks simular to the one in the picture next to the coil. It has the same specs. Can you tell me were to get the same one. I have not seen any others that look like they are bulged.
bones41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 05:05 AM   #19
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 16,674
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

brand?
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 08:13 AM   #20
bones41
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Dimension 8400 with bad HN(M)'s

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747
brand?
It is a Nichicon 2200uf 6.3v and it says 22 Ho 422 on the side
bones41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?