Abit BP6 recapping & stability tips [UPDATED]

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Abit BP6 recapping & stability tips [UPDATED]

Ok, Ive had several emails and even a posting or two in the forums about the Abit BP6 motherboard... Along with the VP6, I've had a lot of experience with the BP6. As we all know, the BP6 was plagued with the crap cap problem as well... However, this board has room for a couple variations in changing out the caps. I usually try to sway people away from changing capacitance values, however, through MUCH testing and experimenting with this board, some mods were worth doing.

I'm sure that all the BP6 users are familliar with bp6.com, and they've given me quite a few usefil tips, but their site is a MESS to dig through looking for info. The tips here are very simple and to the point if you want a stable BP6 again.

It doesn't really matter which revision you have, as the mods will cover both revisions.

Here's a list of the problem caps and what to replace them with.

The following capacitors stock are 1500uF 6.3v caps. Replace them with 2200uF 6.3v or 10v capacitors. Use only LOW ESR caps!! This is VERY important!
    EC15, EC5, EC1, EC11, EC4, EC6, EC9, EC7, EC8, EC2, EC13, EC14.

Ok, EC10 needs to be replaced with a 1500uF 10v capacitor.

These caps need to be left at their stock values of 1000uF 10v caps.
    EC3, EC17, EC25, EC21, EC20, EC24, EC18, EC19, EC22, EC23, EC28, EC31.

It is also recommended that some thermal grease be applied to the northbridge heatsink... You know that old BX chipset and how hot it can get!!

I'm not going to go into any Coppermine modding, simply because it's risky business! I have successfully completed it on a few BP6's, but I also hosed a couple boards in the curve....

The cap replacements above were found to be the BEST for reliability running stock, overclocked, and even Coppermine mods. If you plan on recapping your BP6 and have any questions, let me know!
    Good Luck!