Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2007, 07:45 PM   #41
iliiinieis
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

So if I have a couple of 1000uF6.3v then I can use them in place of the 820uF6.3's? Even if they are bigger or smaller than the originals? As long as they don't get in the way of course.
iliiinieis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 08:40 AM   #42
iliiinieis
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

Ok guys, I am apparently too stupid to be allowed to live. Lol. I am not a cap expert but I am A+, N+ and MCSE certified. However no amount of education prevents me from screwing things up from time to time. I need another GX280 Motherbaord. Any ideas of where I can get one and cheap? I had just soldered the last cap onto the board. I dropped a Philips screwdriver into the LGA 775 socket and destroyed a bunch of the little pins. Why they took them of the CPU and integrated them into the board is beyond me but never the less, I still need a new board. I am assuming that replacing the socket itself would be a nightmare. Any ideas?
iliiinieis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 06:00 PM   #43
gonzo0815
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
City & State: Germany
Posts: 1,595
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

Ha ha ha, you shure not followed any advice from the manufacturer: "remove the plastic cover only when isntalling a CPU"
I hate this damn LGA soket, but ok there is no choice for us on this issue.
gonzo0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 08:31 PM   #44
iliiinieis
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

A big thanks go out to you guys and all your info as well as Chris at BC.net. Got one of them up and running! Runs great too!! Unfortunatley the other one me. LOL Waiting on a new Mobo from Hell. I mean Dell.
iliiinieis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 12:48 PM   #45
iliiinieis
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

Hey guys, I called up Dell and it turns out that my warranty was some business gold package so they sent me a new motherboard to replace the one I messed up with the screwdriver. Lol. Oh and guess what, they have different caps already on them! No nichicon. The tech guy told me it was a huge problem with that cap manufacturer but that they got it under control now. Anyway, I don't need the caps now. I am happy.
iliiinieis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 04:24 AM   #46
jlrich14
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

Hey, I have a question and kinda am stuck. I received a GX280 from my friend who actually got Dell to send her a new MB and I cant figure out how to get this thing out. Its not like anything I'm used to, to be honest and was wondering if anyone could help me out. If anyone could, I would be greatly appreciative. Thanks JR
jlrich14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 11:58 AM   #47
gobsgraham
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

Hey Guys, Bump of an old thread.

I have two GX 280's that were given to me with all of the symptoms of bad caps but none of the nichion caps are swollen. Should I just replace them all anyways and hope it works. I don't really want to invest the $20 + an hour for no reason.

What are your thoughts?
Thanks
gobsgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 01:36 PM   #48
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

gobsgraham; Welcome to badcaps and sorry no-one replied to you
I would think it is unlikely if the caps have not swollen, that is the most likely failure mode of the Nichicon caps...

Here is a model I recapped today, would only blink it's diag lights on the back after being on for like 5 mins to warm up, no POST at all, turned on off intermittently, I was infact very sceptic a recap would fix it
Seeing as only 8 caps where bad, the rest are Rubycon and Panasonic and they are all fine... Here are some nekkid pixx
Replaced the 3x 820F 6.3v with Samxon GC 1000F 6.3v.
And the 1500F 6.3v by the PCI slots with matching Samxon GC...

After recap it purrs like a cat
POST directly without any issues!

Btw, if anyone has one of those slim floppy cables for this case, part no 7F455; I'd love to take it off your hands
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PICT4251.jpg (210.9 KB, 120 views)
File Type: jpg PICT4252.jpg (221.6 KB, 111 views)
File Type: jpg PICT4253.jpg (216.2 KB, 102 views)
File Type: jpg PICT4254.jpg (194.0 KB, 96 views)
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."

Last edited by Per Hansson; 07-26-2009 at 01:42 PM..
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 10:56 PM   #49
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,845
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

ive made my own slim cables. find one of the right length, split the ribbon into smaller ribbons between the plugs (use a sharp knife and a steady hand), stack ribbons, zip tie the bundle and there you go, a floppy cable with the cable size of a SATA cable. post if you need a few pics of what ive done.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:25 AM   #50
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

ratdude747; not possible, this is a very special cable...
On the pic right to the text "FDD" is supposed to be a male FDD +5v connector, it's been stripped straight of the PCB, not easy to fix...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PICT4260.jpg (144.3 KB, 75 views)
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:27 PM   #51
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,845
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

oh

why in the #@$% would they make it like that? stupid design.
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:32 PM   #52
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,845
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

is that a male or female plug? if female, find a dead power supply. cut off a floppy connector with the wires attached and solder that in there. if male, steal a plug off a dead floppy drive.

or search for "mini berg". thats the type of plug you need.
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:52 PM   #53
Wizard
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

Have stash of old 3.5" floppy drives? Find one with through hole power connector and take it and solder that one on. If the solder holes on other side are intact.

Cheers, Wizard
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 03:30 AM   #54
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

No, as I said cable can't be repaired, the traces on the slim cable have all been ripped to hell
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 05:23 AM   #55
Junk Parts
Court Jester
 
Junk Parts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Baltimore-A Rat Hole With A Harbor
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC@60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8,725
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

I feel your pain Per Hansson! Its a Dell ! I'm going up to my friends shop today to get a good working DVD drive. I'll look for your part too. Lots of Dell guts around that place... If I find anything I will PM you.
__________________
It ain't what you don't know that gets you into
trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so.
Mark Twain
"I wish to have no connection with any ship that does not sail fast; for I intend to go in harm's way."
John Paul Jones

There is a fifth dimension, beyond that which is known to man. It is a dimension as vast as space and as timeless as infinity. It is the middle ground between light and shadow, between science and superstition, and it lies between the pit of man's fears and the summit of his knowledge. This is the dimension of imagination. It is an area which we call the Twilight Zone.

Rod Serling
Junk Parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 06:10 AM   #56
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

It's ok, Big Pope said he would be able to find one for me...
But thank you for the offer!
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 11:43 PM   #57
jole1901
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
City & State: Vinkovci
My Country: Croatia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: dell Optiplex gx280

Helo, can someone help me. I have motherboard Dell Optiplex GX280 SFF, I got it without some capacitor. Is missing the following capacitors, C461, C462, C463, C464, C465, C145, C139, C160, C161, C162, C163, C164, C165, C166, C167 and C150. If somebody can send the values ​​of these capacitors was I would be very grateful. thanks
jole1901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?