Chimei DAC 19M009 Power supply Problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have searched and not found anyone with the issue I am trying to reslove.
    Monitor is dead. no lights, no sound, nothing. I have tested the fuse just under where the power plugs into the board it was blown. then I tested the the bridge rectifier. it was also blown. I tested the P10NK60ZFP and it tests good. I replaced the bridge and the fuse and removed the part P10NK60ZFP. I then pluged it back in and PoP. the fuse blew again. I am not sure where to go from here. any help would be very appreciated.
    Attached Files

Re: Chimei DAC 19M009 Power supply Problem

I am no expert but it sure looks to me that your small blue ballast ceramic disc capacitors are blown. I would replace all of them and try it again. Of course as everyone on here says also replace all your aluminum electrolytic capacitors also. Read other questions in this section and learn as much as possible about the Al. El. Caps.
    Have you ever stopped to think and then forget to start thinking again?

As a very wise man once said on this forum: "Of all the things I have lost I miss my mind the most."

Comment

Hard to tell, but that looks like clear silicone on the blue caps. Check the electrolytics, and check the power transistors and diodes for shorts.

Comment

There are several components after the main fuse and prior to the bidge that should be checked:

1) all the components above the ac power connector and to the left of the bridge rectifier. Have you checked them for shorts?

2) there are three surface mount resistors, R145?, R146? and R147? in series across the AC input. Check them for shorts.

Comment

Yes, it is clear like silicone on the blue caps.. I tested R145, R146 and R147 those all tested ok. I tested the bridge again and sure enough one side is shorted. I am going to replace this again. is there something else I should test that could have take this out?

Comment