Scepter x20WG-naga 2 seconds to black.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Scepter x20WG-naga 2 seconds to black.

Hey everyone, read around the forums and everything, but due to my limited knowledge I figured I would probably need some help!
    I know the basics, how to solder/desolder and I know my parts pretty well, but I'm not very good at the troubleshooting part!

Anyway, onto the actual technical end of things:
    Recently my x20WG monitor just started going black for no reason, image was still visible with a flashlight or other (followed all these steps) and I don't know where to start. I took it apart (what a hassle) and now have the board out, and there are some burn spots on it. I have some pictures, hopefully of adequate quality.

Hope you can help!
    Attached Files

Re: Scepter x20WG-naga 2 seconds to black.

The Purple capacitpr on the right hand side ,standing on its own,looks 'bulged'at the top, and may well be the cause of your problem ??

Comment

It does appear a little bulged, what would be a good replacement 150 μF/25V capacitor?
      Rather, which company would you suggest as a replacement?
      Last edited by Halosheep; 10-27-2012, 05:24 PM.

Comment

Change the green SamXon GF ones aswell

Comment

Originally posted by tron View Post
          Change the green SamXon GF ones aswell
          Yes, the Samxon GF are "known" bad series of caps.

Most recommend digikey.com and use Panasonic FR/FM or FC series. An example is provided (regulars may skip)

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...84&postcount=3
          --- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.