Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sony HCD-EP313 Stereo. Optical Pickup Assy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sony HCD-EP313 Stereo. Optical Pickup Assy?

This Mini-Stereo (2 channel, CD & Cassette) was handed off to me because they heard I like tinkering with things.

Anyways, I did say I'd take a look at it, and found the radio portion as well as aux input works fine. The person doesn't use cassettes anymore so i didn't even try that.

The problem is with the CD portion. When you put in a cd, the motor spins it up for several seconds and then comes to a stop and the display says "NO CD". Last portable Cd-player I had that did that went right in the dumpster, so I have no experience with troubleshooting.

If anyone has dug into a cd-player, could it mean that the laser assembly may be bad and doesn't 'see' anymore and therefore can't determine if there's a cd or not? Or does it mean the problem may lie in the electronics itself?

Is there a way to check further? Is the laser-light visible? I found a replacement optical-pickup assembly for sale, and wondered if that might be a good call, or what?

Any help/suggestions appreciated.
    Last edited by dogdad; 07-23-2016, 11:06 AM.

Re: Sony HCD-EP313 Stereo. KSS-213E optical pickup.

Look, these units (unless it has been previously repaired) carry the KSS-213E optical pickup (KSM213EDP mechanism). KSS-213E are the best of KSS-213x series for maintenance point of view. It's a shame to replace these pickups just because they're dirt. It's a shame.

Clean the lens with a cotton swab. You'll find videos on how to carefully clean pickup lens of any CD/DVD. Don't scratch it by cleaning it with dry cotton swab, always slightly wet with eyeglass cleaner solution. I don't recommend alcohol unless dirtiness comes from greassy environment (kitchen).