Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice/suggestions on a "dead" Samsung 2693HM

Hi there,

New member doing some research into an issue with a Samsung 2693HM that I was gifted earlier today. I'm not an electronics expert or tech, just what you might consider an average Joe to some degree that's been mucking around with consumer electronics for decades. Having said that, I'll cut to the chase:

I did several hours of research on the specific problem I'm having with this 2693HM and it seems like most owners either had the "2 seconds to black" issue or the white screen issue; I haven't noted many that stated they had or have the same issue that I do so here's what's happening.

- Monitor appears to turn on when the power switch in the rear is set to On, blue power light on the front, no noise heard, no backlight "flash" of any kind, shining a flashlight onto the screen at various angles shows nothing at all

- Front panel on/off responds to touch and turns off the display one time - if I tap it again a few moments later it'll come back on but will never turn off again regardless of the number of presses/taps/touches, I have to do a full power reset with the physical switch in the rear to get that response again

- Audio subsystem is working to a point. When I plug in some source material I can hear it somewhat clearly through the speakers in the 2693HM, sad as they are. The front panel volume controls have no effect (unless I'm using them in an incorrect manner, that is