Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2018, 01:47 PM   #1
Blacktek
Badcaps Veteran
 
Blacktek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: Houston
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 226
Default Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

What could it be??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180616_132624.jpg (1.21 MB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg 20180616_132656.jpg (736.7 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by Blacktek; 06-16-2018 at 03:03 PM..
Blacktek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 01:51 PM   #2
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,922
Default Re: Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

ok... I'll bite... its not the tcon... :-)
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 01:57 PM   #3
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7,874
Default Re: Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

How bout full model number and some good straight on pics. of the whole setup and each board, as good and focused as you can get.
nomoresonys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 04:01 PM   #4
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,922
Default Re: Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

well, the picture isn't much help.... which half is messed up? how about feeding a good signal into it so we could see something other than "snow" ... unless that is your "complaint". But if the line just off to the right side / center is actually there, that is likely an indication of a "panel problem" with the side tab driver.

Last edited by budwich; 06-16-2018 at 04:03 PM..
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 06:22 PM   #5
Blacktek
Badcaps Veteran
 
Blacktek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
City & State: Houston
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 226
Default Re: Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
well, the picture isn't much help.... which half is messed up? how about feeding a good signal into it so we could see something other than "snow" ... unless that is your "complaint". But if the line just off to the right side / center is actually there, that is likely an indication of a "panel problem" with the side tab driver.
is that better?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180616_172142.jpg (550.5 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg 20180616_172054.jpg (764.8 KB, 37 views)
Blacktek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 07:19 PM   #6
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,922
Default Re: Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

a bit... I had to turn my monitor upside down to figure out what the picture was... :-)

Anyways, odds are high that you have a "panel problem"... if I understand your picture correctly, the one side is darker which is an indication that the tab drivers on that side are not being driven. Depending on how the set implements the connections, it could be a problem with the bottom edge board of the panel on that side. The edge boards are not replaceable but may be repairable if you can locate any faulty smd components on the board. Alternatively, tons of posts where people "save" the set by removing the side tabs (on the dark side) and the set look basically normal again. Read up / search for things "side tab removal" or otherwise. Anyways, the "removal" is not reversible and they can never be put back so you want to research and check things well before going the "last step".

One check is to disconnect one tcon to panel cable and see what happens (do this with the power off) to the display. Then try the same thing by pulling the other cable (after replacing the other cable). It is quite likely when you do it one way, you will get half a picture while doing it the other way, you will get nothing.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 10:05 PM   #7
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,039
Default Re: Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
Alternatively, tons of posts where people "save" the set by removing the side tabs
That's if the panel took a shit in Sharp-style!
__________________
ASRock B550 PG Velocita

Ryzen 5 "Vermeer" 5600X

32 GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C18D-32GTZN

Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6600 XT

eVGA Supernova G3 750W

Western Digital Black SN850 1TB NVMe SSD




"¡Me encanta "Me Encanta o Enlistarlo con Hilary Farr"!" -mí mismo

"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Today's lesson in pissivity comes in the form of a ziplock baggie full of GPU extension brackets & hardware that for the last ~3 years have been on my bench, always in my way, getting moved around constantly....and yesterday I found myself in need of them....and the bastards are now nowhere to be found! Motherfracker!!" -Topcat

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 11:19 PM   #8
maxvalutech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: forster nsw
My Country: australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 725
Default Re: Look at this, samsung 65" Half Screen mess, Tcon Replaced, same thing

I'd be doing a bit more checking before anything else. For instance is your "new" tcon exactly the same in all numbers as on the usual white sticker attached to them. Voltage checks general and to tcon especially also gamma checks. Have you tried other inputs e.g AV , HDMI, etc. Apart from that the pics in your post are almost useless - but it does look as if menu , source, no signal , displays might be OK ?? When taking pics if you can't turn TV upside down turn camera upside down or edit pic before posting - front on no slants and screen surround showing.
maxvalutech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?