Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2018, 12:26 PM   #1
Jackching
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
City & State: PEI
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Power windows automatic Switch

Anybody know the technical name of switches these are that are circled in red? The top one is the power lock and the second one down is the automatic power window switch out of my car. The lock still works but the window one doesn't. Just wondering if its possible to just to replace the switch as they want a fortune to replace the whole part. Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Switch with circles.jpg (489.3 KB, 41 views)
Jackching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 01:34 PM   #2
zx8401
Phantom Fiddler
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: coventry
My Country: uk
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50HZ
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 43
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

I would look at the contacts first, they may be a simple 6 pin double pole double throw switch.
You may need to dissasemble one to see how they are configured.
Sorry im not helping much, i would take one apart so i knew what connects to what.
zx8401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 01:58 PM   #3
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,243
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

Are you sure its the switch thats bad? It should be easy to check it with a meter. they could be double pole double throw, on-off-on momentary center off
Probably easier to find one at an auto wrecker, or there could be after market ones on line. they do list similar items

Last edited by R_J; 02-12-2018 at 02:14 PM..
R_J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 02:30 PM   #4
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 898
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

Look for a logo on the switches, to tell who makes them.
In all likelihood, they are Kyungin, a Korean make and hard to find.
You can get the whole door/window switch assembly off eBay or Ali.

Usually the door wires break, in cold weather, at the hinge point.
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 02:42 PM   #5
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

switch cleaner usually fixes those .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 07:08 PM   #6
gabik111
ORD spotter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Chicago O'Hare
My Country: USA / Poland
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz & 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 138
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

Depends on what car is this usually they are integrated with the board that is underneath. The board might be a part of the internal network (CAN) which contains other features in your car.
I would try to fix this or as other suggest check wires.
__________________
Laptops and computers repair.

Last edited by gabik111; 02-12-2018 at 07:11 PM..
gabik111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 05:05 PM   #7
Jackching
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
City & State: PEI
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

Thanks for all your suggestions. I was able to try a new switch and it still didn't work. So now I'm down to a wire, the motor or maybe a relay. The fuses are fine
Jackching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 08:37 AM   #8
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,622
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

The motor in my opinion is the issue, here. The motors have a tiny switch that goes bad for some reason. The switch opens and breaks the power when the window reach full up or full down when in-travel.
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 07:40 PM   #9
gabik111
ORD spotter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Chicago O'Hare
My Country: USA / Poland
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz & 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 138
Default Re: Power windows automatic Switch

It calls limit switch. It might need some service (I did it in my Sienna when there was an issue with automatic door) - just need some cleaning and greasing. It require to deassembly the motor housing if it is possible (some motors are assembled permanently).

Some motors have an electronic limit switch which brakes the power when motor current is higher than some programmed value (when the motor gets mechanical resistance it needs more power=current to operate then electronics sees that and shutting off motor power).
gabik111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?