Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2019, 10:24 AM   #1
Retrogator
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Dallas, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

Hello all. First post on this forum. Am resurrecting an Alienware tower I acquired at an estate sale. This is the first time changing out caps, and need some guidance.

The mobo is an Intel D850MV/D850EMV2 with a few bulging caps. A couple are 3300uF/6.3v KZG series, which I plan to swap for Panasonic EEU-FM0J332.

However, this silver one is a mystery. The logo sort of matches an old G-Luxon, but I can't find the series anywhere. Was thinking about swapping for EEU-FM1A152L, which has similar ESR/Ripple specs as the KZG replacement above. Thoughts?

Also, if some of the caps are bulging, should I be replacing all of the other caps even though they look ok?

Many thanks for the assistance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1271.JPG (119.3 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1273.JPG (145.7 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1304.JPG (156.1 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by Retrogator; 07-11-2019 at 10:31 AM..
Retrogator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 11:56 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,914
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

silver one is HD series, cant remember the make but i'v seen them in playstation2's a lot.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 08:53 PM   #3
lti
Badcaps Veteran
 
lti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Windsor, Colorado
My Country: United States
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,910
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

They're made by Nichicon, and you can probably get an exact replacement.
lti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 08:20 AM   #4
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

a rambus 478 P4? Might not be worth your effort.
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:02 AM   #5
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,337
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
a rambus 478 P4? Might not be worth your effort.
It depends on what it's functions are. You'd be surprised the relics I repair with proprietary uses that would cost a hell of a lot more to replace than repair.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:22 AM   #6
Retrogator
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Dallas, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

Thanks on the Nichicon ident. I can't seem to find a specific "HD" series on their website. There is a newer UHD, which looks possible, but without knowing the original HD specs, hard to tell. Will UHD work as a replacement for it?

Do you recommend replacing all caps when recapping a mobo or just the ones that show bad (bulging, gassing, etc)?

Agreed on the mobo pedigree, but the entire rig cost $7 so hard to beat the price. If nothing else, it will be good recapping practice before attempting on something I care more about.
Retrogator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:25 AM   #7
Retrogator
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Dallas, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

Never mind on the Nichicon HD series. I found this: http://www.nichicon.co.jp/english/pr.../pdfs/e-hd.pdf

Alternatively, was thinking of replacing it with this Panasonic instead: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/667-EEU-FM1A152L
However, this one has a higher ripple current spec than the Nichicon. Is it ok to replace cap with one that has a higher ripple?

Still have question about replacing all caps or just bad ones.

Thanks, all!

Last edited by Retrogator; 07-12-2019 at 10:34 AM..
Retrogator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 03:11 PM   #8
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

higher ripple rating is better so no issue.

anyway, the problem is that u have picked caps that wont fit because of inappropriate dimensions. the panasonic fm EEU-FM0J332 cap u picked wont fit because its 12.5x20mm in size. the original kzg 3300F 6.3v cap is 10x25mm in size. it wont fit because the cpu vrm area or the chipset vrm area has the caps pushed close together side by side so the caps must be the correct size to fit in there. use panasonic fr series EEUFR0J332L as the correct sized replacement.

same thing with the EEU-FM1A152L. its a 10x25mm cap and the nichicon hd 1000F 10v cap is 8x20mm in size. it wont fit because the cap is right up against the main atx connector so it has to be the right size or it wont fit. again, use panasonic fr series EEUFR1A102L as the correct sized replacement.

lastly, tell us or show photos of what types of caps are on the board if u wanna know if u should replace all caps or just bad ones. all caps with the series kzg, kzj from chemicon are replace on sight; nichicon hm, hn and hz caps with 2002-2004 datecodes are also replace on sight.

also check the psu in that alienware tower. most likely the psu failed and took out some of the caps on the motherboard.

Last edited by ChaosLegionnaire; 07-12-2019 at 03:18 PM..
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 03:57 PM   #9
mariushm
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2011
City & State: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,718
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

You can use a 6.3v rated polymer capacitor instead..
Cap filters 5v or 3.3v from psu.. they probably used 10v rated for better specs or because there was room (same diameter for 6.3v or 10v).

took liberty of filtering list: https://www.digikey.com/short/p95twp
All 820..1200 uF 6.3v or 10v polymer caps in 8mm diameter, in stock
mariushm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 05:26 PM   #10
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,856
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

For some reason, Nichicon likes to put "U" in front of their series names in their catalog. Just ignore; similarly, ignore the "(M)" you frequently see next to the series name on many capacitors. "(M)" simply means 20% tolerance.
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:23 AM   #11
Retrogator
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
City & State: Dallas, Texas
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

Didn't pay attention to the sizes, but you're right. There's no space for the 12.5mm's. So many spec details to watch for! Glad to have this forum watching my back!

Copy that on the PSU caps (a Chieftec, so likely the original shipped new with the unit). There's indeed a bulgie in there and also a semi-burned power resistor. I'll post a pic of that too.

Will also inventory the remainder of the caps. Close visual inspection, they all look ok (top and bottom), but will inventory the series of each.
Retrogator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:00 PM   #12
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,167
Default Re: First Timer - Mystery capacitor identification

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
anyway, the problem is that u have picked caps that wont fit because of inappropriate dimensions. the panasonic fm EEU-FM0J332 cap u picked wont fit because its 12.5x20mm in size. the original kzg 3300F 6.3v cap is 10x25mm in size. it wont fit because the cpu vrm area or the chipset vrm area has the caps pushed close together side by side so the caps must be the correct size to fit in there. use panasonic fr series EEUFR0J332L as the correct sized replacement.
Isn't Pana FR too high Impedance?
And why not go with Polymers instead??

3300F/6,3V are Polymer levels anyway and, out of my head, at around 12mOhm.
Decent Polymers are at 9mOhm. Why not go for those?
And they are cheaper as well...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:56 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?