Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Soyo - Shuttle - Supermicro
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2011, 05:17 PM   #1
tweak
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

I just acquired a Shuttle XPC SD30G2B from a lot of assorted parts off craigslist and the system does not power up. The flex atx power supply isn't the problem since doesn't power up using a full sized atx psu. The previous owner say it just stopped powering up a few months ago.

It's a FD30 rev 1.x board. Only one capacitor that has signs of failure (slight puff). I'm planning on replacing it and others identical.

Has anyone had experienced or comments on this board?
tweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 08:43 PM   #2
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,213
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

just because other ones aren't bloated dosen't mean they're good

do you know what brand they are?
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 02:59 AM   #3
tweak
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

The bad one is green OST 10v 1000uf, there are total of 8.
Other brands of the bigger caps are KZJ, KZG, and RLX.
tweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:22 AM   #4
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,141
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

KZJ/KZG should all be replaced. They often fail without bloating. RLX is made my OST I think and OST is just so that should be replaced. Also check the PSU for bad caps.
__________________
Sierra: Core i5-7500, 16GB DDR4, 480GB Crucial SSD, RX580 8GB.
Colorado: Athlon 760K, 8GB DDR3, 120GB Kingston SSD, RX560 4GB.
Silverado: Core i3-2120T, 4GB DDR3, 60GB Kingston SSD + 4TB Seagate HDD.
Canyon: Core i5-3470, 16GB DDR3, 120GB Crucial SSD + 500GB WD VelociRaptor HDD + 6x 8TB WD Red HDD.
Plus a bunch of ThinkPads.
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:26 AM   #5
locololo
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Baden WÜrttemberg
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Hi tweak, i have to FD 30´s on hand both with the same 38 failure on my postcode-card, which cpas did you replace, or better asked do i have to replace all of them for being sure !
locololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:07 AM   #6
Stingerrray
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Fleming Island, Fl
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Any News on this. I have the exact same board and could use expert help too. Did you notice there were 2 types of 10V 1000uf caps on the board? There are a total of 8. Can the same replacements be used for both they look exactly alike. But have diff letters on them.

Thanks,
Stingerrray
Stingerrray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 12:13 PM   #7
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,983
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Replace all OST caps on this board. Note that there are different series of OST. There's:
* OST RLP and RLG ---------> replace with Chemicon KY or KZE, Nichicon HE or HD, Rubycon ZL or ZLH, or Panasonic FR and FM

* OST RLS ---------> replace with Chemicon KZE, Nichicon HD, Rubycon ZL or ZLH, or Panasonic FR and FM

* OST RLX ---------> replace with Nichicon HM or HN or HZ, Rubycon MBZ or MCZ, or polymers if around CPU VRM.

As for the KZG and KZJ - those are made by United Chemicon, which is a good brand of capacitors. But those two particular series, the KZG and KZJ, are known to fail often. So it is highly recommended to replace those too. Use same replacements as for OST RLX.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 03:49 AM   #8
Stingerrray
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Fleming Island, Fl
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Thanks for the help!

Is there any difference between the O714 RLP and the O652 RLP. Both are marked 10v 1000uf .Take a look at the attachment. You can see the middle RLP bulging at the top. Its right in the path of the Northbridge fan air exhaust . Prolly the cause for failure. I'll replace those 3 and see what happens.

Thanks,
Stinger
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1060036.JPG (2.83 MB, 68 views)

Last edited by Stingerrray; 10-22-2013 at 04:32 AM..
Stingerrray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 04:48 AM   #9
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 973
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stingerrray View Post
Is there any difference between the O714 RLP and the O652 RLP
Year & week date codes - 14th week of 2007 and 52nd week of 2006

Unusual for a board to have capacitors with that much age difference, unless one's a replacement - perhaps something to do with a holiday period close to production date
__________________
better to keep quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 10:52 AM   #10
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,983
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stingerrray View Post
Is there any difference between the O714 RLP and the O652 RLP. Both are marked 10v 1000uf .
Other than the date code differences that pfrcom mentioned - no. The caps have the same specs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stingerrray View Post
I'll replace those 3 and see what happens.
That's fine, but I recommend you get replacements for all of the larger OST capacitors on the board (anything rated at 330 uF and above). If you end up replacing those 3 caps and the motherboard works, then definitely go ahead and replace the rest of the OST capacitors. Otherwise, be prepared to tear down the PC again sometime in the future. OST caps rarely last in anything.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 08:45 PM   #11
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 638
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stingerrray View Post
Thanks for the help!

Is there any difference between the O714 RLP and the O652 RLP. Both are marked 10v 1000uf .Take a look at the attachment. You can see the middle RLP bulging at the top. Its right in the path of the Northbridge fan air exhaust . Prolly the cause for failure. I'll replace those 3 and see what happens.

Thanks,
Stinger
quoting this post since the pic has the exact same bloated cap as my SD30G2B has, I replaced the whole group of 3 with nichicon HM, but still get no boot out of mine any other thoughts?
Also wanted to point out the northbridge isn't getting hot even with the fan connected and the ram feels cold too, thought those would be warm with it sitting there.
__________________
My Computer: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asrock X370 Killer SLI/AC, 16GB Geil EVO X DDR4 3000, 500GB WD Black NVME and 2TB Toshiba HD,EVGA GTX 1080 SC, In-Win 303 White, EVGA SuperNova 750 G3, Windows 10 Pro

Last edited by BigTroll; 07-01-2019 at 09:24 PM..
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 10:57 AM   #12
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,983
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

@ BigTroll: check all of the voltage rails are present. Not just on the PSU, but the board itself. Namely, find and check CPU V_core, CPU Vtt, RAM Vdd, RAM Vtt, NB/SB Vcc (could be more than one rail, depending on design), and any other regulators you find.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 12:34 PM   #13
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 929
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

I feel like the 0652 OSTs are fake. Most RLP I've seen in that size were either Blue/Gold and Black/Gold, while these are green.
__________________
Main rig:
ASUS H61M-A
Core i3-3220 3.30GHz
MSI Twinfrozr GTX 750Ti 2GB GDDR5
6GB DDR3-1066
Samsung SH-224AB DVD-RW
Raidmax RX-500XT (recapped)
Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST31000340NS 1TB
JNC RJA-52 case
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 08:29 PM   #14
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 638
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
@ BigTroll: check all of the voltage rails are present. Not just on the PSU, but the board itself. Namely, find and check CPU V_core, CPU Vtt, RAM Vdd, RAM Vtt, NB/SB Vcc (could be more than one rail, depending on design), and any other regulators you find.
im gonna sound like a noob but how would you check those? I have a harbor freight multimeter so i imagine ground black to the case but how would you know where to probe? to find each item, again the ram feels cold like its getting no power at all.
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 10:07 AM   #15
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,983
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTroll View Post
im gonna sound like a noob but how would you check those? I have a harbor freight multimeter so i imagine ground black to the case but how would you know where to probe? to find each item, again the ram feels cold like its getting no power at all.
Yes, black lead on multimeter goes to ground / black wire of PSU. And red lead you measure whatever voltage you're after.

Post a picture of the board here. Should be able to help you find some of these.

CPU V_core can be measured at one of the inductors near the CPU
RAM Vdd/V_dimm ... depends on the board. Some use buck-type (same as CPU VRM - just measure at inductor near RAM if there is one), while others just use a linear regulator.
Most other rails are linearly generated by MOSFETs or standard 1084/1117 linear regs.

Here are some different motherboards I made diagrams of that might help if you're trying to learn how to find voltages on motherboards:
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63041
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63163
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63164
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63069

Last edited by momaka; 07-20-2019 at 10:08 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 12:11 PM   #16
BigTroll
Badcaps Veteran
 
BigTroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
City & State: Jefferson
My Country: LAMBDA SOND
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 638
Default Re: Shuttle XPC SD30G2B (FD30 motherboard)

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Yes, black lead on multimeter goes to ground / black wire of PSU. And red lead you measure whatever voltage you're after.

Post a picture of the board here. Should be able to help you find some of these.

CPU V_core can be measured at one of the inductors near the CPU
RAM Vdd/V_dimm ... depends on the board. Some use buck-type (same as CPU VRM - just measure at inductor near RAM if there is one), while others just use a linear regulator.
Most other rails are linearly generated by MOSFETs or standard 1084/1117 linear regs.

Here are some different motherboards I made diagrams of that might help if you're trying to learn how to find voltages on motherboards:
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63041
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63163
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63164
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=63069
Thanks for the help, I did end up finding another board and shoved it in my shuttles case but someday I will get around to testing this one.
BigTroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?