Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Other Devices with Bad Capacitors
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2005, 08:46 PM   #1
Mustang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
City & State: Houston
Posts: 196
Question Antec True330 P/S

Greetings! Another Antec bites the dust. PC started freezing up about a week ago and then finally a "pop" when plugging it in. I can see 2 fuhjyyu 1650uF 16V caps with bulged tops. Also 2 other caps have what looks like rust stains on their tops (A capxon 3300 uF and a [M] 680 uF). Is this P/S worth the expense to have it repaired? Other than the bad cap issue, this P/S looks to be very well constructed and it would give at least a few more years of good use in an Athlon XP system. It seems to be a crapshoot these days purchasing almost any P/S in general hence the question on repair vs replacement.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 06:03 AM   #2
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 558
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

You can repair the PS yourself if you short the prongs on the power cord with a 1-million-ohm resistor and then recap. This is done to discharge all caps so you don't get a nasty shock. Are the capxon and [M] (which is Panasonic) bulged or just have stains? if panasonic is bulged I would assume it's because of the other badcaps.
__________________
The great capacitor showdown!
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 09:58 AM   #3
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,118
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1992
You can repair the PS yourself if you short the prongs on the power cord with a 1-million-ohm resistor and then recap. This is done to discharge all caps so you don't get a nasty shock.
this will not discharge the caps at all.best defense is to measure the voltage at the main filter caps and discharge them if neeeded.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 10:02 AM   #4
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 558
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Huh? no wait, that was clearing CMOS. I am mixed up. Then how do you discharge caps?
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 10:56 AM   #5
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

You have a bridge rectifier btw the AC inlet and the HV lytics. Either discharge the caps directly if you have access to their terminals or indirectly at the bleeder resistors that are in parallel with the lytics (typically 22K-100K parts, one across each lytic).
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 12:09 PM   #6
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

If you leave it disconnected overnight, it should be safe. In all AT/ATX PSUs I've seen, the capacitors discharged in a couple of seconds.
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 01:12 PM   #7
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 558
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Okay. Now i know and know that the 1megOhm trick is for CMOS and CMOS only.
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2005, 07:06 PM   #8
Mustang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
City & State: Houston
Posts: 196
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1992
You can repair the PS yourself if you short the prongs on the power cord with a 1-million-ohm resistor and then recap. This is done to discharge all caps so you don't get a nasty shock. Are the capxon and [M] (which is Panasonic) bulged or just have stains? if panasonic is bulged I would assume it's because of the other badcaps.
Those 2 caps are just stained. Sounds like I would need to replace the 2 1650uF caps and probably 3 1000uF caps (also Fuhjyyu) then pray a lot hehe. Since the PS went "pop", could there be other parts that might have fried beside the caps?

Thanks for everyone's help on this problem!
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 06:14 AM   #9
Chris1992
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
City & State: Michigan, USA
Posts: 558
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Replace all Fuhjyyu and Capxon. Since the 1650uF parts are a rare value, replace with 1500@16. That's not much loss and you have a 20% tolerance anyway.
Chris1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 10:28 PM   #10
AK0R
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
City & State: Hiawatha, IA
Posts: 203
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1992
Replace all Fuhjyyu and Capxon. Since the 1650uF parts are a rare value, replace with 1500@16. That's not much loss and you have a 20% tolerance anyway.
Or use 1800F@16V or 2200F@16V if they'll fit. Digi-Key has both, in two different diameters.
AK0R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 10:42 PM   #11
Mustang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
City & State: Houston
Posts: 196
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

I'll replace the bad c(r)aps as well as the questionable ones and hope for the best.

On the aside, this was my kid's pc. At 1st glance I figured he downloaded some trash of the internet, caught a virus or some adware etc..gave him hell and all that stuff parents do..hehe. In the end it wasn't an irresponsible kid on his pc but an irresponsible manufacturer shaving a few pennies off the most important part of someone's pc. It's 1 thing if just the ps goes bad but in some cases it takes a few other pcs of hardware with it like a hd that won't boot because the boot sector is corrupt etc etc. So much for ISO certification whatever that's worth.. sorry for the rant.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 11:13 PM   #12
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

ISO 9000 means that you document what you do and do what you document. It doesn't guarantee that what you document is appropriate. Putting it another way, if your troubleshooting procedure is to sacrifice chickens and read the entrails, then you better specify what types of chickens to use, where to make the incision, and include a diagram of the entrails and what to look for.

Did I spoil your dinner?
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 04:05 PM   #13
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

iso9000 9001 etc is practically BS unless you get management actively involved. many just want the paper and therefore the procedures should be as minimal as possible to gain the certification because you will be audited to see if you are following the procedures.

i should know being certified as internal audtor

one of the items i agree with is checking to see what exactly the client wants and determining if you can fulfill it before accepting the job and checking if you fulfilled it in the end. this is lost in many businesses. it is important to define exactly what the client wants and checking off each item at the end. many businesses fall into their way of handling enquiries that they have learnt over the years

another important item is document revision control. are the personnel working on the correct latest revision of document. is information contained in the document for them to be informed about that.

it could have been great but i dont value suppliers highly with that certification. required for doing business with military though
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 10:30 PM   #14
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,422
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Quote:
another important item is document revision control.
Doc control folks need to practically be descendants of Attila the Hun to keep some engineers in line.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 08:36 PM   #15
yanz
Badcaps Veteran
 
yanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
City & State: Dago, Bandung, Indonesia
Posts: 833
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Hey Mustang, are you from ocforums.com? I've read about your antec psu caps blowing.. nice pics there..
yanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 07:14 PM   #16
Mustang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
City & State: Houston
Posts: 196
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Sorry for the late response yanz. That wasn't me. I guess there's a lot of mustangs in circulation

Can anyone post a link to a distributor's website? I still need to fix that PS. Thanks!
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 09:02 PM   #17
AK0R
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
City & State: Hiawatha, IA
Posts: 203
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang
Sorry for the late response yanz. That wasn't me. I guess there's a lot of mustangs in circulation

Can anyone post a link to a distributor's website? I still need to fix that PS. Thanks!
Digikey: http://www.digikey.com
Computek: http://www.computekinc.us

If you search the forums, there is a post with all the known-good suppliers, including Allied, Newark, etc., including overseas.
AK0R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 08:02 PM   #18
Mustang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
City & State: Houston
Posts: 196
Default Re: Antec True330 P/S

AKOR, Thanks for the info!
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 12:11 PM   #19
Mustang
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
City & State: Houston
Posts: 196
Smile Re: Antec True330 P/S

Still haven't been able to complete the repair, waiting on a back order from digikey. I did get the 1000 uf 10V Rubycon caps in from computekinc and while in the mood to solder, replaced the same on 2 other PS's(Allied and Aspire). Both of these supplies were loaded with capxon's, fuuyou's and g-luxons. I now notice the +5v in the bios is stable as a rock! Is it a safe assumption that the 10v caps are used in the 5v circuit? Also noticed the DVD drive now auto runs straight off without having to run the tray door a few times. I dunno if any of this is related to recapping BUT, I'm really happy with the results so far even if it may just be pure conjecture

Last edited by willawake; 09-25-2005 at 03:08 PM..
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2005, 03:06 PM   #20
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,118
Exclamation Re: Antec True330 P/S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang
Still haven't been able to complete the repair, waiting on a back order from digikey. I did get the 1000 uf 10V Rulycon caps in from computekinc and while in the mood to solder,
i sure hope you didnt intentionally order RULYCON caps!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?