Samsung Syncmaster 914v

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung Syncmaster 914v

Hey all, I've been coming across this site's forum while trying to solve this problem and I've hit a dead-end, it seems.

I have a Syncmaster 914v, manufacture date Oct '05, that I've used for over six years now and has finally developed an issue.

I turned my monitor on one morning and it began blacking out for a few seconds at a time, similar to how it would if it were changing resolution. It started out several seconds apart and lasted under a second each time, but over the course of 30 seconds or so, it blacked out with increasing frequency until the picture ceased to return.

From then on, the power LED would blink on and off, and each time it turns on there is a very faint, high-pitched whine before it blinks off and repeats the process. I quickly ruled out any computer/cord issues by using another monitor.

I searched on the issue a bit and read that Samsung tends to use cheap capacitors, so I opened it up and saw that the two 820uF, 25v caps were slightly swollen on top.

Following instructions for a similar issue, albeit with a different monitor, I replaced the following caps on the inverter board:

2x Samxon 820uF 25v
    with: http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...423-ND/2433557

2x CapXon 1000uF 10v
    with: http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...7CT-ND/3072197

1x Samxon 330uF 25v
    with: http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...7CT-ND/3072237

Closed it up, hooked it up and powered it on, and it's behaving identically to before I replaced the caps.

I've circled the replaced caps in the attached image in red.

There are still some on the board I haven't replaced, aside from the large one. They are:

1x 330uF 10v
    1x 47uF 50v
    1x 10uF 50v
    2x 33uF 25v