ESR of a cap in parallel with ceramic one

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ESR of a cap in parallel with ceramic one

Hi! I'm sorry if I ask a question that has already been answered, but I couldn't find anything with search.
    I have one question, and there is no better forum than "BadCaps" for this!
    Namely, I am building an ESR meter and I did read somewhere (I really can't remember where) for problem with small ceramic capacitor in parallel with C.U.T.
    Allegedly, certain ESR meters (that uses 100kHz test-signal or something like that) can not measure in-circuit ESR of an capacitor that is connected in parallel with cer. capacitor, as I said. I'm not a beginner in electronics, but I really can't figure out how such a small capacitor with kiloohms of reactance can affect (or even prevent) in-circuit ESR measurements with ANY kind of meters?
    However, I remember of very resolute claims that such a combination of capacitors is utterly hopeless for many ESR meters.
    So if somebody knows something more, please let me know!

TIA, and sorry for my bad English!

Re: ESR of a cap in parallel with ceramic one

The only TRUE measurement of ESR on a capacitor is out of circuit.

Comment

Of course that "The only TRUE measurement of ESR on a capacitor is out of circuit". But, did you ever tried to remove capacitor from PC motherboard, or some VGA card without damaging both capacitor and MB? Well, if you didn't I can tell you it is very, very hard (if not impossible)!

Comment

It's not hard, many of the members here regularly recap mobos and GPUs. You just need a powerful soldering iron and plenty of flux.

Comment

Originally posted by ChildOfVision View Post