X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Panasonic Plasma TX-P42ST31B - broken screen

Hi guys

I am new to Plasma & LCD TVs concept.
    I know quite basics of electronics repairing, might not be called genius but to quite a good level.

My friend has got a Plasma TV model no TX-P42ST31B. The screen is broken and asked me if it can be fixed, advised its no good idea as its gonna cost nearly same or more than a new TV. So another option was if he could sell any possible good parts from it.

I have opened it and tried checking it but as I m new to this Plasma TV concept so have no much clue from where to begin. My general sense tells me to check it from Power supply. There are 2 fans on the back as well.

All the boards and connections are properly connected, when TV is switched on, 2 relays try to switch on, fan does not spin, the front LED light flashes red for 7 times and just for quick 2 seconds there is high pitch noise somewhere from the bottom, then nothing happens and the LED flashing cycle continues.

What do I do now, where should I begin.
    Thanks

Re: Panasonic Plasma TX-P42ST31B - broken screen

If the TV worked before the screen got broke, then all the parts should be good.

The "SC" board is in particular demand right now and sells for about £50 and you should be able to sell that fairly quickly. The "A" board is also a common failure, and you can expect a similar price.

The other parts might be worth £20~30 each but you could find it difficult to sell them.

Replacing the screen is uneconomical.

Note: I have a feeling that on this chassis a dead/cracked panel will lead to 7 blinks, however it COULD indicate a failed SC board, possibly damaged by the cracked panel.
    Last edited by tom66; 12-16-2012, 01:58 PM.
    Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
    For service manual, schematic, boardview (board view), datasheet, cad - use our search.

Comment