Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > ECS - EpoX - Gigabyte
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 07:21 PM   #1
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,945
Default Gigabyte 8I845PE-RZ fried?

One of my recent findings, that motherboard was in its original antistatic bag and had no dust at all, so I thought it might be unused and good.

But I was wrong. When I power on the psu, the cpu fan spins, but there is no other activity, no beeps or boot...

I noticed that the southbridge gets extremely hot, more that 10 seconds being powered, it starts smelling burnt silicon.

The big caps are all OST, the medium are G-Luxon and the tiny ones are Teapo.

What do you think? I don't think that bad caps can cause this.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (893.5 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (290.8 KB, 32 views)
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:32 PM   #2
seanc
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: Gigabyte 8I845PE-RZ fried?

Sounds like DOA - probably why it was put straight back in its bag. Could be caps though... Have you got an ESR meter?

Also, I've seen a couple of 845 chipsets on QDI motherboards go up in smoke for no "apparent" reason.
seanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:46 PM   #3
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: Gigabyte 8I845PE-RZ fried?

DOA is what I think too.

There were complete PCs near the motherboard with same model installed. Those were dusty and had some caps bulging. That's why I chose to take this one...

I have an ESR meter and I tested the big caps in circuit and found the total capacitance to be ok.

edit: I would use it for caps but it doesn't have any quality caps on it

Last edited by goodpsusearch; 11-12-2010 at 07:49 PM..
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 11:26 PM   #4
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,065
Default Re: Gigabyte 8I845PE-RZ fried?

Maybe it got Bestec-ed/Antec-ed (over-voltage on 5vsb) .
Check how much current it's pulling from the 5vsb in the off state when a PSU is connected to it. Then power it on and check again.

Yeah, you can't use it for the caps . Not for anything serious anyways.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 02:46 AM   #5
linuxguru
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,212
Default Re: Gigabyte 8I845PE-RZ fried?

(Old thread, but just using it as an archival place-holder for related information.)

For the record, the Gigabyte 8I845GVM-RZ S478 P4 board is utterly reliable in my experience - it supports most Northwoods and maybe a few Prescott Celerons with 533 FSB. No AGP, Single-channel DDR only, no SATA, but dual PATA connectors.

Maybe I got lucky - The VRM caps hadn't popped, but I replaced all of the Vcore rail caps with Rubycon ZL and ZLH anyway. Two caps near the Northbridge (EC6 and EC22) had bulged but not popped - they're in the airflow from the CPU heatsink, but some distance away - replaced with Rubycon ZLH 1500/10 which I had lying around. I did not replace two G-Luxons near the PCI slots and USB connectors - these are EC11 and EC68, both 8 mm diameter, and some distance away from the hot airflow, with no sign of bulging.

Edit: Replaced 10x large caps (~1500 uF each) around the CPU socket and Northbridge with ZL/ZLH. Left 3x VRM input caps (already Rubycon MBZ) unchanged, in addition to 2x G-Luxons mentioned above.

It runs like a champ after the recap with an old Northwood 2.66/533/512k that I had lying around - CPU temp doesn't cross 46c according to the BIOS HW monitor.

(I know that it's utterly obsolete, but I'm keeping it as a legacy 32-bit spare, just in case I need to recover/resurrect some aging Win98/WinXP/RedHat 6.2/7.3/Fedora Core 1..4 box.)

Last edited by linuxguru; 10-21-2019 at 02:58 AM.. Reason: Addendum
linuxguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?