Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG 42LG70 42" LCD 1080p - Won't turn on/no picture&sound

Hi there,

I just recently bought a used TV from my friend for $80, he let me know that there was some sort of power problem with it, it would work alright for a while then just randomly turn off, and then not turn on for a long while.

When you press the remote power button (or the TV power button), it does the red blinks like it warming up/turning on, then goes to the blue (means its on), however no sound or picture comes up on the screen.

It worked great all day the first day I had it, and now it won't even turn on at all. I was told that sometimes it just stays off for a day or two so we will see if it will turn on tomorrow, however, this must be fixed.

I have done some research on what the issue may be, I have come across alot of information and I am not very experienced with TV/monitor-related repair, however I am well experienced in computers, software and hardware, and I am planning on doing the repairs myself rather then taking it into a shop.

I was reading that it might be a capacitor on the power board, so I opened up the back of the TV and none of them are blown up, exploded, or bulging from what I can tell. However, I am planning on replacing all of them on the power board anyway, so I was wondering if anyone knew where I can get affordable ones for my board? I live in Canada so they would have to be able to ship to Canada.

If the capacitor repair does not work, my next option would be to completely replace the power board.. this is just what from what I've read online and I will have one of my friends take a look at it tomorrow.

If you've read all the way down to here I really appreciate it and please give me some input on this problem!

Thanks

Re: LG 42LG70 42" LCD 1080p - Won't turn on/no picture&sound

Originally posted by blair View Post