Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2016, 04:57 PM   #1
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Hello guys, my name is Christopher and, after watching an excellent YouTube video by MrReeceyBurger123, I decided to come and post here for help with my problem!

The video in question: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uBhca7zyXI&t=604s

I'm not nearly as knowledgeable with hardware as many of you here, but I will do my best to avoid asking outright stupid questions and I won't demand spoon feeding.

However, I am at a point in this repair where I think it's best if I ask those with more experience than myself.

So this 55" Hitachi 1080p TV, LE55A6R9A came into my possession. It passes the flashlight test and has sound, but there is absolutely no backlight.

I open it up far enough to get to the power supply board. ( MP145D-1MF22-1 )

Around the 8 minute mark in the YouTube video, MrReeceyBurger123 verifies that the power supply is working correctly. Now, I can't absolutely rule out that I'm somehow doing something stupid with the multi-meter, but I get absolutely no reading on any of the lines from CN202 or CN203, which it seems plainly obvious are supposed to carry power to the LEDs.



I plug in the TV, hit power so that the light goes blue, ground the black probe on the metal part of the TV case and jam the red probe down into the "socket" until it must be touching the metal sheath in the plastic plug. I also attempted to touch it to the solder points on the underside of the PCB and that gives me nothing either. I'm getting NOTHING on CN202/CN203!



Can I go ahead and order a new power board from eBay, or is this inconclusive?

I admit I am out of my depth at the moment, but I am absolutely willing to listen and learn and do my own research.

Any advice is massively appreciated, and I am deeply respectful of the knowledge and experience everyone seems to have on here

Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 05:08 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 05:19 PM   #2
dkneyle
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
City & State: Tathra, New South Wales
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 303
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

If you are SURE there in no voltage at those output pins then it would be a power supply fault. If you look at the printed tracks you should be able to see how the circuit is connected and confirm exactly just what the configuration of those output pins are. Sometimes it a series type configuration, sometimes a parallel configuration. It is a very basic circuit at the LED output driver by looks of things. Check those rectifier diodes.
If you find you have volts then you probably have a failed LED in the string in the panel. USUALLY that means a write-off unless you have the skills to open up the panel and replace an LED.
dkneyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 05:25 PM   #3
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

I took this TV to learn as much as to actually fix it. If it's a write off or not really "worth it" that's not such a big issue.

I am... somewhat sure but I will double check.

My multi-meter is kind of cheap. In the video he set it to 600 volts ( Is that the right unit? Straight volts, not a x10 1/10 or whatever) My meter says 200, then 1000. I was using 200. Direct current of course. Could that cause a false non-reading?

I was getting readings other places on the power supply board, but not ( as far as I could tell ) at those points.

Bored right this minute anyhow, I'll take your advice and follow the tracks back and see if I can find voltage.

EDIT: This is the underside.


Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 05:43 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 06:15 PM   #4
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Okay update.

The meter is set up like this, just because I want to make sure I'm not being silly.



When I ground it, then press deep in the sockets on the actual lines that lead to the LED I get a really small reading for a split second, then nothing. At the "top" of both nearby diodes, at this setting, I get wildly, randomly fluctuating readings. Nothing at all like the video. On the "bottom" leg I get nothing as well.

On the actual points in the 'sockets' I definitely make contact, I can feel it scrape the metal and I get an *extremely* brief response from the meter, but then it drops to zero immediately.

Am I doing this wrong? Do I need a better meter? The 200milliamp for the red wire doesn't seem to read as "well," for lack of a less stupid sounding way of putting it.

*sigh*

I need to brush up on the basics for sure. Sorry for the silly questions, I just want to make sure I'm doing it correctly.

Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 06:19 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 06:42 PM   #5
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,790
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Your red probe is in the wrong plug on the meter, it should be in VΩmA NOT 10A DC, That is for measuring current and would put a short on what ever voltage you are trying to measure.
The dial is in the correct place for measuring up to 1000 volts, if the voltage is below 200 volts you can use the 200 volt range

maybe read this http://www.petervis.com/meters/dt830...tructions.html

Last edited by R_J; 11-25-2016 at 06:49 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 06:51 PM   #6
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Your red probe is in the wrong plug on the meter, it should be in VΩmA NOT 10A DC, That is for measuring current and would put a short on what ever voltage you are trying to measure.
The dial is in the correct place for measuring up to 1000 volts, if the voltage is below 200 volts you can use the 200 volt range
Okay thank you, I suspected I was doing all kinds of things wrong. Thanks for your patience. I hope I haven't damaged the TV, though it still seems to be basically behaving the same, so fingers crossed. I honestly don't feel torn up about losing a TV I got for free ( and I have plenty of them already at the moment, don't really need this one. ) I just don't want to damage it and miss the opportunity to get it working.

When I was at 200 with the red probe in the correct slot, I wasn't getting what the video was showing. I was getting fluctuating voltages on the "top" pin of the nearby diodes, but nothing like the video anywhere.

And believe me, I do feel silly. It even says amperage, not voltage.

EDIT: Thanks, reading the petervis link now

Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 06:57 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:08 PM   #7
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,790
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

You should be able to measure voltage accross these two points, I would leave the leads to the led's connected if you can, the two sets of wires going to the led's in the panel are connected in series.
I can't tell from the pictures but the led voltage may be isolated from the chassis ground so when you have the ground, (black) probe on the chassis you may not measure the led voltage, but by putting the meter accros the leads going to the panel led's you should get a reading.
maybe give a larger view of this area
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 9JcwcIw.jpg (90.1 KB, 50 views)

Last edited by R_J; 11-25-2016 at 07:16 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:10 PM   #8
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

This is precisely what I was about to report. As far as I can tell, I'm not getting any voltage in that area.

With it grounded on the case, these were the results. The red marks were reading over 1000 volts, the black marks were reading nothing at all. This is with the TV plugged in and the power button pressed to take it from red light to blue light. Despite the illustration, I was doing this with the wires all plugged in! Just to be clear.



I'm testing the LED leads by jamming the red probe deep into it and feeling it scrape against the metal in there. That should work, right?

And sorry for newbing the place up! I promise I catch on quick

EDIT: When you say across these points, do you mean use the black probe and the red probe on both ends instead of simply grounding the black probe? I can try that.

Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 07:13 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:16 PM   #9
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,873
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

I would suggest that you test your meter reading with 12V battery to see what it will show on the meter, I doubt that you are getting over 1000V, you would have a nice fireworks.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:18 PM   #10
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
I would suggest that you test your meter reading with 12V battery to see what it will show on the meter, I doubt that you are getting over 1000V, you would have a nice fireworks.
Makes sense, that does seem really really high.

Could the meter just be broken?
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:31 PM   #11
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,790
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

If he measured high voltage on the anode of the diodes, that could be correct as the spikes could be quite high and at a high frequency the meter may give a false reading.
Thats why I say to measure the dc voltage accross the two points I indicated
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RHowSsg.jpg (76.3 KB, 40 views)
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:38 PM   #12
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
If he measured high voltage on the anode of the diodes, that could be correct as the spikes could be quite high and at a high frequency the meter may give a false reading.
Thats why I say to measure the dc voltage accross the two points I indicated
TV is on with the light blue. Pressing metal to metal in the socket, set to DC voltage 200, with the probes set correctly and measuring with the probes precisely where you show...

I get nothing on the meter. Bad power board after all?

Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 07:40 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:44 PM   #13
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,790
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

You would need to connect the probes where I indicated and then turn on the tv, Its a good chance that if there is no load (ie: open led circuit) the power supply for the led's will shut down. so the voltage may only be there for a couple seconds
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:45 PM   #14
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
You would need to connect the probes where I indicated and then turn on the tv, Its a good chance that if there is no load (ie: open led circuit) the power supply for the led's will shut down. so the voltage may only be there for a couple seconds
Gotcha, I'll try that now!

EDIT: Okay, tried it. Powered it off and on and even turned it off and on at the wall once with the probes in place while staring at the meter. Nothing across there.

EDIT2: I'll get you that larger view, by the way. Sorry I think I missed an edit, and I read that about it being isolated from the chassis ground as well!

EDIT3: Actually, copied over from budm's ShopJimmy link!


Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 08:01 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:56 PM   #15
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,873
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

You need to find out if your meter is good and working or not first, wrong data will not help troubleshooting the problem.
If the meter is good then we need to find out if the LED driver circuit is getting the BL-ON signal to turn on that power section on or not and go from there.

Hitachi 850118727 Power Supply
http://www.shopjimmy.com/hitachi-850...wer-supply.htm

BTW, your meter does not have that high of the frequency bandwidth to measure high frequency AC Voltage.

Pictures provided by shopjimmy.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shopjimmy-850118727-top.jpg (388.8 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg shopjimmy-850118727-bottom.jpg (1.04 MB, 14 views)

Last edited by budm; 11-25-2016 at 08:17 PM..
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 07:57 PM   #16
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
You need to find out if your meter is good and working or not first, wrong data will not help troubleshooting the problem.
If the meter is good then we need to find out if the LED driver circuit is getting the BL-ON signal to turn on that power section on or not and go from there.
You said 12v right?

Is a car battery a safe test?
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 08:01 PM   #17
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,790
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

It could be a bad power supply but it could also be an open led in the panel. I have seen more problems with bad panel led's but you would need to check them, they make a small led tester for that purpose.
Thats about all I can do from this far away.
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 08:03 PM   #18
PorkfriedPanda
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Ohio
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
It could be a bad power supply but it could also be an open led in the panel. I have seen more problems with bad panel led's but you would need to check them, they make a small led tester for that purpose.
Thats about all I can do from this far away.
Fair enough. What's the cost for the LED tester, if it's not outrageous I wouldn't mind picking it up. Probably won't be the last time I try to fix a TV, honestly.

This seem right? https://www.amazon.com/0-310V-Output.../dp/B01A1479ZS

EDIT: Can anyone recommend a not-outrageously-expensive but adequate multi-meter for this kind of work?

Last edited by PorkfriedPanda; 11-25-2016 at 08:08 PM..
PorkfriedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 08:10 PM   #19
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,790
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

That is one, check around there may be others cheaper, there were posts on here about them somewhere. I think they are around $30.00
heres one http://www.ebay.com/itm/0-300V-LED-L...t_11251wt_1036

This is the model SID-GJ2C

Last edited by R_J; 11-25-2016 at 08:13 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2016, 08:23 PM   #20
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 33,873
Default Re: Hitachi LE55A6R9A - No backlight

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorkfriedPanda View Post
Fair enough. What's the cost for the LED tester, if it's not outrageous I wouldn't mind picking it up. Probably won't be the last time I try to fix a TV, honestly.

This seem right? https://www.amazon.com/0-310V-Output.../dp/B01A1479ZS

EDIT: Can anyone recommend a not-outrageously-expensive but adequate multi-meter for this kind of work?
That is a good tester to have.
Car 12V will be fine to see if your meter is still working or not.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?