Gateway fpd1975w

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gateway fpd1975w

Ok so I've got this Gateway 19" LCD monitor. What it does is, if it has been powered off, meaning unplugged, it will work if the computer is on and the monitor is plugged back in with an active signal going to it. If the computer is restarted, it will not work. The monitor needs to be again unplugged, wait about 10-15 seconds, and plugged back in. That's the only way it will work.

Since I'm new to working on LCD monitors, I have two questions:

1. What's likely wrong with it? What do I need to know about working on these things? I can solder well, and have plenty of caps ready to go. I've replaced lots of bad capacitors on power supplies and motherboards, but I've never been into an LCD monitor.

2. How do I get the f***ing case off the thing?

Thanks in advance!
    A man convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

Re: Gateway fpd1975w

It's probably bad caps, 3 I bet. I got one of these and it wouldn't come on, just flashed the power light, I think.
    It takes 3 35v 470uf caps, they are actually 25v in it, but I replaced them with 35v ones, and it works great now
    This model, and the 17" version are notorious for this problem.
    As far as getting the back off, you will have to either use a flat head screwdriver and pop/pry it around the edges, or get a spudger (sp) opening tool, they have plastic and metal ones, the plastic ones are called black sticks by apple.
    I started at the bottom, so the little dents/scratches are less noticeable.
    You will probably end up breaking some of the plastic tabs that hold it together, but it will still go back together fine afterwords.
    You might also have to take off the stand, mine didn't come with one.

Comment

I had the same problem. I manage to open the case.
      But I have no idea where to find the caps, LOL.
      Can you tell me where are they. Thanks. Luna.

Comment

Originally posted by lunavaldez