Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2019, 03:30 PM   #21
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 36,398
Default Re: Why does my Uni-T multimeter not measure anything?

Thanks for the follow-up.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 04:55 PM   #22
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,927
Default Re: Why does my Uni-T multimeter not measure anything?

count yourself lucky . i still have 3x £100 meters with lots more damage from doing same thing .
well i say 3 i mean 2 . one got hit with about 20k volts .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 04:58 PM   #23
antoniu200
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Posts: 47
Default Re: Why does my Uni-T multimeter not measure anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by petehall347 View Post
count yourself lucky . i still have 3x £100 meters with lots more damage from doing same thing .
well i say 3 i mean 2 . one got hit with about 20k volts .
I know I am. Lucky because that 315mA 250V fuse blew before any more damage was done. If that fuse hadn't blown, I wouldn't have this mulimeter back up again.
antoniu200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 06:29 PM   #24
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,570
Default Re: Why does my Uni-T multimeter not measure anything?

i avoid this by blocking the current jack on my meters and only testing current with a clampmeter.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 05:35 PM   #25
Retro-Hipster
Tinkerer
 
Retro-Hipster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Salt Lake City
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 125
Default Re: Why does my Uni-T multimeter not measure anything?

STJ speaks wise words. lol

Also, I know that this situation is a bit different since you were testing the socket, but if you work commonly with mains stuff I would suggest making a light bulb current limited supply. For the cost of an extension cord, a ceramic light socket and a tungsten/halogen bulb, you can have a socket that will light the bulb up when you make a short while also protecting your equipment/device under test..
__________________


“Men always seem to think about their
past before they die, as though they were
frantically searching for proof that they
truly lived.”
– Jet (Cowboy Bebop) -
Retro-Hipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 05:47 PM   #26
Retro-Hipster
Tinkerer
 
Retro-Hipster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
City & State: Salt Lake City
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 125
Default Re: Why does my Uni-T multimeter not measure anything?

Ah... it's a shame a board that spacious doesn't have A) a 10a fuse and B) HRC fuses...

Ironically, that little gap where the trace was would probably fit one of those tiny 10a hrc axial lead fuses and give your meter an upgrade. Lol (Just heat shrink it well to keep it from the shunt/other terminals.
https://m.littelfuse.com/~/media/ele...asheet.pdf.pdf
Retro-Hipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 06:10 AM   #27
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,570
Default Re: Why does my Uni-T multimeter not measure anything?

or put an inline fuseholder on the probes wire - fluke sell a probe like that!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?