Thank you to the guys at HEGE supporting Badcaps [ HEGE ] [ HEGE DEX Chart ]

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Samsung LN52A550P3FX2A, blinking red light in front. No backlight.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung LN52A550P3FX2A, blinking red light in front. No backlight.

... but the samsung logo in the bottom does light up. 5.13V standby power holds steady even through the 'clicking'. The huge capacitors in the middle of the IP board give me 392 and 393V. I have replaced all of the capacitors except the two huge ones with no changes in behavior. I even tried resetting the EEPROM (or what I thought was the EEPROM, there is no IC with 'EEPROM' explicitly marked on it) with no success, by soldering wire to pins 5 and 6, holding them for two seconds then letting go. I am mentally drained from getting nowhere with this thing and would really appreciate any pointers and suggestions as I am still a rookie at this. I will post pics tomorrow morning if they help. Thanks a million.

EDIT: forgot to mention all the fuses in the power board are fine
    Last edited by Bertron; 06-24-2017, 01:09 AM. Reason: add important facts

Re: Samsung LN52A550P3FX2A, blinking red light in front. No backlight.

since you have 393v on the main cap, that would mean that your main board is sending the ps on signal to the ps which in turn is activating your pfc section.

now you need to check the connector that leads to your main board.
    dcv, black probe to chassis ground.
    pin label, stby voltage, on voltage.

working blind till you get those pics up!
    WHY CAN'T PHILIPS USE PHILLIPS HEAD SCREWS?

Comment

http://imgur.com/a/ZAuQX

uploaded the pictures to IMGUR as part of an album for this repair

I took the voltage readings for that whole connector. The readings are as follows:

DESIGNATION.................READING
      13.0Vm.........................13.15V
      13.0Vm.........................13.15V
      13.0Vs..........................13.57V