Help with Toshiba 50L2300U

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with Toshiba 50L2300U

Hi, Need help on a 50" Toshiba L2300U series LED TV. Less than 3 years old and the LED back light just went out. Has sound and picture (with a flashlight). I got the front bezel and back panel off (what a pain!). I poked around the power supply board near the LED power connector with an ohmmeter and found 2 shorted Schottky barrier diodes and a shorted N channel Mosfet (I have some experience in electronic circuitry but not with LED TV's). I could not get the exact p/n replacements but replaced them with components that are higher spec in volts and current.

Unfortunately, I did not take any voltage measurements before I replaced the 3 bad components. After plugging in the power supply board, the unit would not power up with the remote or the power button on the main board. I took power supply voltage readings at the connector and they are as shown below. I am not sure what to do next to get the TV to power on to see if replacing those 3 parts helped. When the front bezel was pryed off, the IR sensor and LED indicator connector just ripped off. It does not look damaged. I have not tested continuity of the wires at the IR sensor or LED indicator but will do so. Any help appreciated.

This is the power supply board. The 2 bad Schottky barrier diodes were SR3150 and replaced with 2 dual diodes MUR3020PT (use 1/2 of each). The N Mosfet was PO920ATF and replaced with IRF640
    Last edited by 2many; 07-29-2016, 08:19 PM.

Re: Help with Toshiba 50L2300U

Can we see the straight shot pictures of the whole power supply/LED driver board?
    I also need the P/N as printed on the BARCODE stickers.
    Never stop learning
    Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
    http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
    http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL: