Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Panasonic TH42-PZ80U - SS board or Panel?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Panasonic TH42-PZ80U - SS board or Panel?

Hey everyone

Long time lurker, first time poster here. A few weeks ago my Panasonic TH42-PZ80U shut down and gave me the dreaded 8 blink error code. At first I didn't know what to make of it, so I simply unplugged the TV and plugged it back in the next morning. All was fine, until it happened again. Long story short, the TV now refuses to stay on for longer than 10 minutes at a time.

I have some experience with repairing electronics, albeit mostly with computers, so I decided to attempt a repair. Using the service manual and some advice from badcaps/avsforums I opened it up and began to diagnose the problem. First I unplugged connector SS-33 from the SS-board, and turned on the TV. The picture was very dark with lines and spots, but it stayed on for about 2 hours until I decided to turn it off. I reconnected SS-33, and the TV shut down after 10 minutes of operation, so I ruled out a problem with the D-board. I then used a digital multimeter to measure the anode of D280 on the SS-board while the TV was on. I measured 0.1V. The manual suggested that this indicates a problem with the SS-board (and that 2.7V would indicate a bad panel), so I ordered a new board off shopjimmy.