Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

T240 Samsung, Wont turn on

Hi,

I had 3 dead monitor, fixed two the vp930b and the vx1932wm all thanks to this forum
    and now for this last one
    the Samsung T240
    few weeks ago i decided to shut down my pc but when i tried to turn back on several hours later, the monitor won't lit up,

I rule out the "2 seconds to blackness" since there's not even half a second letting me turning it on. only once a while when i tried to turn it on, the red led will lit up for less than half a second.

Nothing is showing on the screen, so i have no idea what's wrong with it
    after i did some googling and some youtubes videos
    i decided to pop it open

i studied a few thread saying
    it's either
    a) bad caps
    b) bad ccfls
    c) bad ccfl wiring (especially the return wiring)
    d) bad secondary windings on the inverter transformer

which in my case
    the first thing i see are the Bad yellow cap from sam young
    so my first option would be replacing all the caps
    problems, because some of the white glue or paste are on the way and how the caps was placed,
    i have no idea how to identify them

I know the Yellows are 1000uf 10v which i might replace it with 1000uf 16v or 25v

aside from that which caps should i be replacing, should i replace all? including the small one?

hopefully the problems only stay with the bad caps and nothing else

thanks in advance, help is much appreciated.
    Attached Files

Re: T240 Samsung, Wont turn on

Those yellow caps are almost certainly the problem.

This, this, this, or this should work. You'll need to measure the physical size of the old caps to see which will fit. Of course, you could use a different brand with the same specs if you wanted to.

Now, while likely only the bulged caps are bad (yet), it is a very good idea to replace every lytic cap on the board. If you can tell us the markings on the others, we can suggest replacements for those as well.

Comment