Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2018, 04:24 AM   #41
EasyGoing1
Badcaps Veteran
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Hesperia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 260
Default Re: I Don't Understand

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
I would run constant current of 120mA (80% of the max spec.).
The VF of the LED will vary withe current flwoing through the LED, temperature all affect Vf, that is why you should use constant current source, 30V may be OK it depends on the Vdrops of the Constant current active control element at the needed current and variation of the total Vf of the LED string, you want it to have head room for the Output Voltage to go up and down as needed to maintain constant current.
See page 12 of the graph which is typical spec provided by the LED manufacturer which I doubt if you have it for your LED. If you have constant current power supply then you do the measurement and see what you get with your LEDs you will be using.

https://www.bridgelux.com/sites/defa...%20Rev%20B.pdf

Good caps: I.E. Panasonic FM/FC/FR series, and many other Japanese manufacturer.
Unless I can somehow modify this circuit so that it puts out 120ma instead of more than double that amount which it does now ... I wont be using it at all ... unless I break that series up into two sets and run them in parallel...
__________________
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 05:24 AM   #42
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,078
Default Re: I Don't Understand

Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyGoing1 View Post
Unless I can somehow modify this circuit so that it puts out 120ma instead of more than double that amount which it does now ... I wont be using it at all ... unless I break that series up into two sets and run them in parallel...
I have been watching this post to see if you have figured some way to make it work

I have some LED power supply module that are the same exact way that you have to match the current level but when you try to do this the voltage goes up

What I found out is that the LEDs that I was trying to use did not match current draw that the LEDs that were in the LED module light

I have not yet figured out how to overcome this problem yet

Right now now I do not have time to figure this out

Maybe the week of Thanksgiving when I am off from work I will have some time to figure this out and some other project problems at this time
__________________
9 PC LCD Monitor
6 LCD Flat Screen TV
30 Desk Top Switching Power Supply
10 Desk Top Power Supply
10 Battery Charger Switching Power Supply for Power Tool
6 18v Lithium Battery Power Boards for Tool Battery Packs
1 XBox 360 Switching Power Supply and M Board
25 Servo Drives 220/460 3 Phase
6 De-soldering Station Switching Power Supply 1 Power Supply
1 Dell Mother Board
15 Computer Power Supply
1 HP Printer Supply & Control Board * lighting finished it *


These two repairs where found with a ESR meter...> Temp at 50*F then at 90*F the ESR reading more than 10%

1 Over Head Crane Current Sensing Board
2 Hem Saw Computer Stack Board

All of these had CAPs POOF
All of the mosfet that are taken out by bad caps

Last edited by sam_sam_sam; 11-08-2018 at 05:26 AM..
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 06:27 AM   #43
EasyGoing1
Badcaps Veteran
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Hesperia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 260
Default Re: I Don't Understand

Quote:
Originally Posted by sam_sam_sam View Post
I have been watching this post to see if you have figured some way to make it work
I'm about as stubborn as they get ... I WILL get this working one way or another ... know that! I prefer using the method that is as stable and long term as possible, and the solution that people agree with - who know more than I do ... but if that avenue fails, I've got wire cutters and a pretty decent soldering iron ... bunch of caps and resistors and diodes laying around ... ill spit and duct tape something together eventually ... but for the time being, I sit among the great weevils on the mountain and digest as much knowledge as I can before they get sick of me ... ill let you know what the final solution is when I get there. :-)
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 08:29 AM   #44
sam_sam_sam
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
City & State: Sunny Jacksonville FL
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120 Volts 60 HZ
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,078
Default Re: I Don't Understand

Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyGoing1 View Post
I'm about as stubborn as they get ... I WILL get this working one way or another ... know that!
I have the same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyGoing1 View Post
M I prefer using the method that is as stable and long term as possible, and the solution that people agree with - who know more than I do ... but if that avenue fails,
Yes I prefer to do it this way also

Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyGoing1 View Post
I've got wire cutters and a pretty decent soldering iron ... bunch of caps and resistors and diodes laying around ... ill spit and duct tape something together eventually ... but for the time being, I sit among the great weevils on the mountain and digest as much knowledge as I can before they get sick of me ... ill let you know what the final solution is when I get there. :-)
But if all else fails resort to something like this
sam_sam_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:22 AM   #45
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,063
Default Re: I Don't Understand

Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyGoing1 View Post
Unless I can somehow modify this circuit so that it puts out 120ma instead of more than double that amount which it does now ... I wont be using it at all ... unless I break that series up into two sets and run them in parallel...
Read post 34, I already show you how that 180mA comes about, so to change the LED current setting you just need to change the value of the resistor. It is all in the spec sheet.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 05:22 PM   #46
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,063
Default Re: I Don't Understand

BTW, if you remove one of the two R13 (2R20) resistor, the constant current will drop down in half to 90mA.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 07:53 PM   #47
EasyGoing1
Badcaps Veteran
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Hesperia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 260
Default Re: I Don't Understand

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
BTW, if you remove one of the two R13 (2R20) resistor, the constant current will drop down in half to 90mA.
NOPE!




Attached Images
File Type: jpg Circuit Board.jpg (100.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg meter.jpg (325.0 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by EasyGoing1; 11-08-2018 at 08:22 PM..
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:24 PM   #48
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,063
Default Re: I Don't Understand

Where is the meter connected to? In series with the LED string? Unless that spec sheet diagram does not match what you have, or 5602 is no longer regulating the current.
See the calculation and how the 5602 is connected, verify if it matches your board lay out as far as R13 connection is concerned. I see that one end of the resistor is connected to pin 7, 8 for sure, most Chinese manufacturers will just copy the circuit from the IC manufacturer application circuits.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 5602 wiring.jpg (285.6 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg Cs and I calculation.jpg (363.9 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by budm; 11-08-2018 at 10:47 PM..
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 04:25 PM   #49
EasyGoing1
Badcaps Veteran
 
EasyGoing1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
City & State: Hesperia, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 260
Default Re: I Don't Understand

[QUOTE=budm;861331]Where is the meter connected to? In series with the LED string?[quote]

Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Unless that spec sheet diagram does not match what you have, or 5602 is no longer regulating the current.
See the calculation and how the 5602 is connected, verify if it matches your board lay out as far as R13 connection is concerned. I see that one end of the resistor is connected to pin 7, 8 for sure, most Chinese manufacturers will just copy the circuit from the IC manufacturer application circuits.
OK, I'll have a look ... but im thinking if I just use two strings of LEDs connected in parallel it should be fine, unless it isn't bright enough but with 8 or 10 total of these LEDs I think it might be alright.
EasyGoing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?