Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2018, 11:57 AM   #1
jayjr1105
Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Lancaster, PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 46
Default Video card Capacitor question

In the image below, you obviously have the + and - leads. What is the other lead close to the negative? Is it a problem if that lead gets bridged with the negative when re-capping?

https://imgur.com/i5y8AGo


BTW, I assume crap caps?... http://prntscr.com/i1txzi


Last edited by jayjr1105; 01-17-2018 at 12:00 PM..
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 12:03 PM   #2
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,354
Default Re: Video card Capacitor question

I have never seen a cap with 3 leads. If you post a pic of the underside of the board it would help in answering your question.
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 12:04 PM   #3
jayjr1105
Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Lancaster, PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 46
Default Re: Video card Capacitor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew F. Ali View Post
I have never seen a cap with 3 leads. If you post a pic of the underside of the board it would help in answering your question.
I'm not saying the cap has 3 leads. I'm wondering what that pad close to the negative is for? It appears to be common on older video cards to have that pad super close to the negative lead.
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 12:56 PM   #4
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,221
Default Re: Video card Capacitor question

It's to accommodate caps with different lead spacing, 5mm or 7.5mm in this case would be my guess.
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 01:03 PM   #5
jayjr1105
Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Lancaster, PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 46
Default Re: Video card Capacitor question

Are you guessing at the lead spacing differences or the accommodation part?
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 08:24 AM   #6
Andrew F. Ali
Badcaps Veteran
 
Andrew F. Ali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: Point Fortin
My Country: Trinidad & Tobago
Line Voltage: 125VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,354
Default Re: Video card Capacitor question

Quote:
Originally Posted by per hansson View Post
it's to accommodate caps with different lead spacing, 5mm or 7.5mm in this case would be my guess.
+10000
Andrew F. Ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 03:23 PM   #7
jayjr1105
Member
 
jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Lancaster, PA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 46
Default Re: Video card Capacitor question

I did confirm this with a continuity test. I guess if they bridge during a re-cap, it's no big deal.
jayjr1105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?