Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2017, 03:53 AM   #201
vince59
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: italy
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

goodmorning,

using BIOS universal tool I did a back up from the laptop I am trying to fix (elitebook 820 g3). I enclose the file so that if someone can help me I would appreciate.
I hope the dump is correct and it is password protected.
It would be very helpful for the forum members to understand how the procedure is done. But I realize it is probably the result of big eforts by someone and it is not correct to abuse someone else effort.
Attached Files
File Type: rar HP-N75Ver.01.13.rar (3.80 MB, 9 views)

Last edited by vince59; 11-27-2017 at 03:56 AM..
vince59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:21 AM   #202
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 557
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by vince59 View Post
goodmorning,

using bios universal tool i did a back up from the laptop i am trying to fix (elitebook 820 g3). I enclose the file so that if someone can help me i would appreciate.
I hope the dump is correct and it is password protected.
It would be very helpful for the forum members to understand how the procedure is done. But i realize it is probably the result of big eforts by someone and it is not correct to abuse someone else effort.
you send bios not good use bios programmer bkup and again upload.
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:48 AM   #203
vince59
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: italy
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by imranromi View Post
you send bios not good use bios programmer bkup and again upload.

can you please suggest a bios programmer software to be used?
vince59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 05:12 AM   #204
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 557
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

You have a bios programmer device?
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 10:41 AM   #205
vince59
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: italy
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by imranromi View Post
You have a bios programmer device?

not yet. I am waiting to receive the one I bought on ebay. I thought it was possible with software too.
vince59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 02:15 AM   #206
vince59
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: italy
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

Hi, I received my programmer CH341A. I succesfully installed the driver and it is working. Before dumping my BIOS I did some test with a chip taken form another PC. The chip is a MX25L3205. I tried to read the BIOS and to write it again.
I realized that when I rewrite the bios into the chip some bites change their value. Is it normal or the file and the result MUST be exactly the same?
When actually reading the BIOS form my chip do I have to DISCONNECT the RTC backup battery?
Thanks for your kind help.

Last edited by vince59; 12-06-2017 at 02:18 AM..
vince59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 11:06 AM   #207
vince59
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
City & State: italy
My Country: italy
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

I am enclosing two test file. One is the original BIOS from HP package, the other is the reading from the chip with CH341 reader...coparing the file it seems there are some differencies (Ultraedit software) but I could not actually check them.
I did the checksum cjeck and they are different. I wonder if the files are same or there is some bad reading...(maybe time stamp makes difference)
Attached Files
File Type: rar test bios files.rar (7.42 MB, 0 views)
vince59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:36 AM   #208
saveriuccio
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

salve a tutti.
sono nuovo di questo forum. ho un hp elitebook 820 g2 non ricordo la password
vorrei sapere se il chip che devo leggere e' questo winbond w25q16v
un mio amico lo ha letto posto il file ma non so' se va bene. un grazie in anticipo a tutti
Attached Files
File Type: rar 820g2.rar (484.6 KB, 0 views)
saveriuccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:41 AM   #209
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 557
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by saveriuccio View Post
salve a tutti.
Sono nuovo di questo forum. Ho un hp elitebook 820 g2 non ricordo la password
vorrei sapere se il chip che devo leggere e' questo winbond w25q16v
un mio amico lo ha letto posto il file ma non so' se va bene. Un grazie in anticipo a tutti
no you need 16mb bios file send i try remove.
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:57 AM   #210
saveriuccio
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

ciao e grazie per la risposta
come fare per leggere 16md. mi legge solo 2mb
saveriuccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:59 AM   #211
imranromi
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: rawalpindi/punjab
My Country: pakistan
Line Voltage: 230v
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 557
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by saveriuccio View Post
ciao e grazie per la risposta
come fare per leggere 16md. Mi legge solo 2mb
this motherboard have 2 bios chip. 1 chip is w25q128bv you read this bios chip use eeprom programmer.
imranromi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:24 PM   #212
saveriuccio
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: napoli
My Country: italia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: HP Elitebook 820 G2 bios needed

ciao.
spero che sia buono e' stato un lavoraccio intgrato siglato 25l12873f
Attached Files
File Type: rar hp820g216.rar (1.97 MB, 0 views)
saveriuccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?