X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Samsung 51" Plasma PS51D450A2M

Hey guys,

Found this one, with no power symptom,
    With power connector, i have one little red blink.

Opened up it and i can see that i have a green light on on the tcon board.

(The light on the Tcon board randomly turns on and off)
    and i can hear small ticking as there is a load or a short to the psu.

I have very little experience fixing plasma tvs.

Visual inspection showed heating signs on 2 boards (not the psu, main, tcon, buffer board) im sorry but i don't know their technical names (YSUS VSUS maybe).

I searched the forum and found Tom66 post, (he had a bad mainboard)

Some testing tips on plasma would be great,

PSU Board :BN44-00443B
    Main Board: BN94-04644A

I have 5.21v Stby voltage, and 395vdc on 2 main filter caps.

I don't know how to force start a plasma psu, is it the same as in LCD?

Use a 1k resistor from 5v to pson with nothing connected to psu but the ac?
    Attached Files
    Last edited by s_henya; 04-14-2015, 03:35 PM.

Re: Samsung 51" Plasma PS51D450A2M

Yes same as LCD.

IGBT maybe ticking? Use an insert from a toilet roll to narrow down where it is

Comment

Control board LED should flash in operation about once every 1-2 seconds. If fault is detected, it will be 5-7 seconds.

Boards from 3rd image: X-main, Y-main, control/T-con/logic, main AV board

These sets can be easily upgraded to the 3D model, although the 3D performance in my case was lacklustre (but I've never seen a 3D TV I liked to be honest.)
      Last edited by tom66; 04-14-2015, 04:46 PM.
      Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
      For service manual, schematic, boardview (board view), datasheet, cad - use our search.

Comment

So...

I should test the psu first right?

using 1k resistor between b5v to ps_on in the first picture?

with all other cables disconnected, but power cable?