ASRock P4i65GV killed by PSU Fuhjyyu's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ASRock P4i65GV killed by PSU Fuhjyyu's

I have an ASRock P4i65GV Prescott 800 Dual Channel DDR400 motherboard that became unstable after a few months being powered by a recycled Antec True550 PSU.

I just joined yesterday, and this is my first post to this forum. I'm an experienced computer software developer, with a background / hobby in electronics design and servicing. So this post is more to document my recap for others who may have the same PSU and motherboard.

I acquired the Antec True550 after upgrading a dual Xeon system for a client; they needed a proper EPS12V PSU for dual CPU upgrade. Thinking it was still in decent shape, It found it's way into an in-house ASRock / 3.2GHz Celeron-D system upgrade.

After a few months the system became unstable, and seemed to be running warmer than usual. Upon opening the case, I saw the blown caps around the CPU. They are the 10x25mm 3300uf 6.3V Nippon Chemi-Con KZG series. As stated in other threads, except for a bad batch a few years back, these should be decent caps. But then again that is about the same time the 800 Mhz FSB Socket 478 Prescott was popular.

I was familiar with this forum from prior referencing, and after reading a few threads I confirmed my suspicions of the suspect PSU. Upon PSU inspection I found it was one of the units built by CWT using the failure prone Fuhjyyu's.

I shopped Mouser and Digikey for suitable replacements. I was leaning towards the panny's but could only find them in the larger 12.5mm diameter. I narrowed my search parameters to 10mm and found comparable replacements at Mouser. A mixture of Nichicon HM, HN, and HZ series. I would have preferred to use HZ series for the main 3300uf 6.3v, but only the HM was in-stock. The HM ESR and ripple current specs are identical to the KZG specs, so they should work until the HZ are restocked.