Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2018, 12:33 PM   #2341
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13kv
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Yup, I confess, I used the web interface.....
Well there's your problem lady! Cisco requires physical access for anything besides the most bignine of reconfiguration. Even then it may still blow up!
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios.

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

My "Extremest" views: I will spread my knowledge to whoever will receive it. It is their prerogative if they do bad with it.

My backup powerplant doesn't have a microcontroller.
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 12:45 PM   #2342
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,580
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
Well there's your problem lady! Cisco requires physical access for anything besides the most bignine of reconfiguration. Even then it may still blow up!
Not really.....its rather hit or miss (old device)....it was a miss in this case....but many modern Cisco devices have quite proactive web-based GUI's. It's not the 90's anymore.

...and the next time you address me as a female, you'll regret it.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 01:11 PM   #2343
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13kv
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Not really.....its rather hit or miss (old device)....it was a miss in this case....but many modern Cisco devices have quite proactive web-based GUI's. It's not the 90's anymore.

...and the next time you address me as a female, you'll regret it.
Guess im too used to working on old crap....


Getting your painties in a knot over an expression? eh?

Last edited by goontron; 09-20-2018 at 01:14 PM..
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 01:17 PM   #2344
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,580
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
Guess im too used to working on old crap....
You said it, not me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
Getting your painties in a knot over an expression? eh?
Please enlighten me as to what part of that was an 'expression'?
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 01:23 PM   #2345
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13kv
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
You said it, not me.


Please enlighten me as to what part of that was an 'expression'?
https://cheezburger.com/6156805120
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 01:31 PM   #2346
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,636
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
That's a new one for me
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 01:47 PM   #2347
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13kv
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

^ Huh. Maybe its just a northerners expression....
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 02:40 PM   #2348
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,580
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
^ Huh. Maybe its just a northerners expression....
I was born & raised in Wisconsin and have never heard of that nonsense. Poor attempt at a save.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 03:21 PM   #2349
Curious.George
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 757
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Yup, I confess, I used the web interface.....
Yeah, once you get out of the SOHO market, their kit tends to require a bit more care to coerce to doing what you want. I always use the console interface to do the configuration (often, you can't get the web interface to come on-line without knowing the original IP, etc. -- or, it may have been deliberately disabled by the BUSINESS that had used it, previously).

Last time I did this, I had to manually delete "files" from the device in order to make room to upload the new image (consumer kit would have done that FOR me).

I'll be converting another 1142 to autonomous mode in the near future so I will try to take notes on the process -- refreshing my memory of past efforts along the way.
Curious.George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 07:41 PM   #2350
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,580
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curious.George View Post
Yeah, once you get out of the SOHO market, their kit tends to require a bit more care to coerce to doing what you want. I always use the console interface to do the configuration (often, you can't get the web interface to come on-line without knowing the original IP, etc. -- or, it may have been deliberately disabled by the BUSINESS that had used it, previously).

Last time I did this, I had to manually delete "files" from the device in order to make room to upload the new image (consumer kit would have done that FOR me).

I'll be converting another 1142 to autonomous mode in the near future so I will try to take notes on the process -- refreshing my memory of past efforts along the way.
If I connect the 'brick' to console, it just rolls through some weird boot loop. I'm not able to login to it at all. Not sure if its recoverable or not. I have one more like it, and then the 2 good ones. Wrecking the older/lower end ones isn't a big deal....but I'll be a little more attentive with the next one.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 08:29 PM   #2351
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 11,580
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Picked up another cheap BP6 on ebay....didn't need another one, but it was cheap....
It came today. board will only POST with one CPU at a time (in either socket), but will not POST with both CPU's. CPU2 fan header is dead. Original jpcon/jackcon caps appear ok, but I'm 100% positive that they're toast. All these issues are pretty common for the BP6, so this one will make it!

It will need a recap and possibly a transistor or two.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:14 AM   #2352
Curious.George
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 757
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
If I connect the 'brick' to console, it just rolls through some weird boot loop. I'm not able to login to it at all. Not sure if its recoverable or not. I have one more like it, and then the 2 good ones. Wrecking the older/lower end ones isn't a big deal....but I'll be a little more attentive with the next one.
I suspect it is attempting to fetch (via TFTP) a "good" image -- having decided that whatever image it presently contains is bogus (corrupt, wrong version, bad signature, etc.)

You'll need a TFTP service running somewhere on a local 10.0.0/26 network. The AP will reset to 10.0.0.1 and then go looking for a TFTP service. You'll have had to have configured the TFTPd to serve the correct ios file/image.

Once it has retrieved that, it will install it and boot into it. Then, it will be a bit more "sane".

I'll see if I can do my 1142 later today (currently on a wacky sleep/wake cycle so it will be many hours, yet) What model are you playing with? The file names will be different (but not surprisingly). And, the indicators will differ (IIRC, the 1200's had 3 LEDs on the front? the 1142 has just one multicolor LED). I assume you've already got a good console cable (?)

It's usually pretty hard to permanently brick a Cisco AP so its just a matter of trudging through the "fallback" procedure...
Curious.George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:09 AM   #2353
Curious.George
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 757
Default Re: best cheap/free scores 1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curious.George View Post
I'll see if I can do my 1142 later today (currently on a wacky sleep/wake cycle so it will be many hours, yet) What model are you playing with? The file names will be different (but not surprisingly). And, the indicators will differ (IIRC, the 1200's had 3 LEDs on the front? the 1142 has just one multicolor LED). I assume you've already got a good console cable (?)
I posted an FYI thread under Networking describing that process. HTH
Curious.George is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?