Unhappy VIZIO E500i-B1 Powers on then shuts off within a few seconds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Unhappy VIZIO E500i-B1 Powers on then shuts off within a few seconds

Hi All - I'm new to this. I have a Vizio 50" LCD TV that is 18 months old. It has stopped working. It will power on, displays the VIZIO logo on the screen, then within a few seconds powers off and the white power light slowly fades out. Of course the warranty is up. I have tried to reset, uplugged all external devices, unplugged from power source, held the power button for 60 seconds, plugged into new outlet, etc. I would like to attempt to fix it myself due to the cost of service vs. a new TV.

I saw another thread about the exact same issue that I modeled this thread on but it was a different Vizio model here: https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=22001

In that thread most people say it's a firmware issue. I talked to Vizio support and they insist that it's a hardware problem and that they will not help but will refer me to someone who I can pay to repair it. I'm fairly handy and can solder and such but I need some help! So glad to find a community like this one!

Re: Unhappy VIZIO E500i-B1 Powers on then shuts off within a few seconds

Oh....one more thing....several times I have unplugged the TV for 30 minutes or so and then it will come up again and work fine for hours at a time. But as soon as I turn it off it's stuck and will no longer power up again and behaves like I stated above.

Comment

Sounds like a bad eeprom or corrupted eeprom chip to me. You can try using a can of air to freeze the chip. If cold, it comes on every time, then change it.

Sadly it doesnt look like anyone is selling on at this time.

Comment

Originally posted by ozzy214 View Post
        Sounds like a bad eeprom or corrupted eeprom chip to me. You can try using a can of air to freeze the chip. If cold, it comes on every time, then change it.